8.3 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

African Youth Scrabble Championships begin in Lagos — — –

- Advertisement -

Some of the world’s best players have gathered in Lagos for the inaugural Pan African Scrabble Association (PANASA) President’s Cup (PPC) and the African Youth Scrabble Championships (AYSC), which began yesterday at the Orchid Hotel, Ikota-Lekki and the Chrisland School also in Lekki.

According to the organisers, over 225 players drawn from Africa and the United States (U.S.) are competing for honours at the four-day twin event.

The African players in the competition are from Botswana, Cameroun, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, The Gambia, Uganda and hosts, Nigeria.

The PANASA President’s Cup (PPC) is an elite category event open to players across the globe, while the African Youth Scrabble Championship (AYSC) is reserved for young African players, who must be 19 years and under. They will compete in two categories for U-15 and U-19 trophies.

Among dignitaries at yesterday’s opening ceremony was the governor of Turkana County Province of Kenya, Jeremiah Ekamais Lomorukai Napotikan, who is the special guest of honour.

The Kenyan governor had on arrival on Wednesday paid a courtesy visit to the Oniru of Iruland, Oba Abdulwasiu Omogbolahan Lawal, Abisogun II, as well as frontline Pan-African educationist, Dr. Winifred Awosika, the founder of Chrisland Schools.

The organisers disclosed that players in the President’s Cup are vying for $32,000 prize money, while $9,000 has been set aside as prize money for the African Youth Scrabble Championship.

The AYSC, they said, has many spot prizes and gift items, ranging from laptops to tablets and smartphones for the participants.

Tomorrow, after two scheduled rounds of games, the visiting young players will go on an excursion to landmark locations in the city of Aquatic Splendor like the National Museum, Lekki Conservation Park, Kalakuta Museum and Nike Arts Gallery.

In addition to the individual prizes, the top team will smile home with $1000. A team at the President’s Cup comprises at least three players from the same country and it is limited to only the African countries at the championship.

The winner of the President’s Cup will get $5,000 and the Gbenga Ojofeitimi trophy, while the second and third-placed players will get the SM Quartey trophy, plus a cash prize of $2,500 and $1,700 and the Ojior Osikhena trophy respectively.

Latest news
Related news