3.6 C
London
Saturday, January 28, 2023

When is USA vs Netherlands at World Cup? Date, time, early odds and history for Round of 16 match

- Advertisement -

USA sealed a dramatic place in the 2022 World Cup Round of 16 after Gregg Berhalter’s side edged out a priceless 1-0 win over Iran in their final group-stage game.

Second place in Group B, in behind England, now pits the USMNT against the winners of Group A, in the form of Louis van Gaal’s Netherlands.

The Oranje are unbeaten so far in Qatar, with seven points from their three matches, and they will be looking to reach the quarterfinals for the third time since 2010.

Here’s all the latest information on the huge matchup including the date, kickoff time, betting odds and historical meetings between the two sides.

MORE: Gakpo and De Jong clinch Netherlands’ Round-of-16 spot at World Cup

When is USA vs Netherlands?

  • Date: Saturday, Dec. 3
  • Time: 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT in USA

Netherlands will take on the USA on Saturday, Dec. 3 at the Khalifa International Stadium in Al Rayyan, with kickoff set at 10 a.m. ET (18:00 local time in Qatar).

Here’s how that translates to time zones across some of the world’s major territories:

  Kickoff time
Qatar 18:00 (local)
USA 10:00 ET
Canada 10:00 ET
UK 15:00 GMT
Australia 02:00 AEDT*
India 20:30 IST
Hong Kong 23:00 HKT
Malaysia 23:00 MYT
Singapore 23:00 SGT
New Zealand 04:00 NZDT*

* Following day (Dec 4)

USA vs Netherlands odds

Odds via BetMGM (USA), Sports Interaction (Canada), SkyBet (UK), and Ladbrokes (Australia).

A reminder: All moneyline bets in soccer are for regulation only, regardless of competition. If the match requires a winner and goes to extra-time or penalties, a moneyline bet of a regulation draw is successful and the rest of play does not factor in.

  BetMGM Sports
Interaction
SkyBet Ladbrokes
Netherlands win -120 1.84 5/6 5/6
Draw +240 3.35 12/5 23/10
USA win +333 4.21 18/5 18/5
Both teams
to score Y / N
+100 / -145 1.96 / 1.67 11/10, 4/6 1/1, 8/11
Over / Under
2.5 goals
+115 / -160 2.17 / 1.61 5/4, 4/7 6/5, 8/13
Netherlands -0.5 -130 1.83
USA +0.5 -110 1.91
Netherlands advance -250 1.41 4/11 2/5
USA advance +170 2.70 2/1 9/5

USA vs Netherlands history

The USA have never faced the Dutch in World Cup action before, with the two nations restricted to friendly meetings across the years.

Netherlands dominated their early meetings with the US, with four friendly wins from 1998 to 2010, before the US finally ended their drought with a 4-3 win in Amsterdam in 2015 in the Jurgen Klinsmann era.

USA record vs Europeans at World Cups

The USA drew with Switzerland and lost to Romania on their way to the Round of 16 as hosts of the 1994 World Cup, before going down to a 1-0 defeat to eventual champion Brazil in the first knockout round.

However, their knockout record against European sides will be a concern for Berhalter, having lost 7-1 to Italy on their first visit to the knockouts back in 1934 and then, more recently, going down to Germany (2002 quarterfinals) and Belgium (2014).

Has the US ever won a knockout-round match?

While their overall record is not great reading, USA have enjoyed knockout-round success once before.

Back in 2002, they beat CONCACAF rivals Mexico in the Round of 16 to reach the quarterfinals, before going down to Germany in the last eight.

That, though, is their sole knockout-stage win. As well as losing to the European sides, they have also gone down in the latter stages of World Cups to Argentina (semifinals, 1930), Brazil (Round of 16, 1994), and Ghana (Round of 16, 2010)

Latest news
Related news