12.5 C
Sunday, September 25, 2022

Will Zalatoris will take up to 2.7 million dollars

- Advertisement -

Despite the fact that in recent weeks the prize for the winners has been lower than usual (less than 1.6 million dollars each), the St. Jude Invitational Championship will distribute a total of 15 million dollars among its participants.

St. Jude Invitational Championship, results

Thus, the winner of the American tournament, Will Zalatoris, will take home up to 2.7 million dollars. This is a significant number and represents the same amount achieved by Scottie Scheffler at the Masters and Justin Thomas at the PGA Championship.

In this way, the St. Jude Invitational Championship becomes the third tournament of the season that offers the highest payouts for the winner, only behind the Players Championship (3.6 million dollars) and the US Open (3 ,fifteen).

The FedEx St. Jude Classic is a golf tournament in the United States and is part of the American PGA Tour. The tournament was established in 1958 as the Memphis Open and has since been held in Memphis, Texas. Since 1989, the tournament has been held at the TPC Southwind.

It originated in 1958 as the Memphis Open and was played at the Colonial Country Club in East Memphis. In 1969, the actor and comedian Danny Thomas gave his name to the tournament, and the first Danny Thomas Memphis Classic was held the following year.

Danny Thomas also helped establish St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, which was also supported by the tournament. In 1972 the tournament moved to Cordova (Tennessee) on the outskirts of Memphis. In 1977, Al Geiberger hit a round of 59 on this par-72 course; his 13 under par is still a record on the PGA Tour (meanwhile equaled by David Duval, Chip Beck, Paul Goydos and Stuart Apple).

In 1985, the tournament was officially renamed the St. Jude Memphis Classic, and the following year, Federal Express became the title sponsor of the tournament, which then became the Federal Express (in 1995 FedEx) St. Jude Classic.

In 1989, the tournament moved for the second time, this time to the TPC Southwind in Memphis (Tennessee), a par 70 course. In 2007, the Stanford Financial Group became the title sponsor of the tournament. That took two years; for the next two seasons, the tournament had no official title sponsor.

Federal Express returned as title sponsor in 2011. American Dave Hill is the record holder with four wins. The lowest score was achieved in 1996 by John Cook: 26 under par.


Latest news
Related news