RFA Elections: Kotoro retains Ashanti region seat, Asamoah floors Budu

Sports News of Saturday, 19 October 2019

Source: citinewsroom.com


Gfa Logo TodayGFA has new regional heads

The Regional Football Association results have concluded across 10 regions in Ghana, with 10 new RFA Chairmen elected to govern football at the regional level for the next 5 years.

Incumbents such as Salifu Zida (Upper East) and Osei Tutu Agyemang aka Kotoro (Ashanti Region) retained their seats, with the latter’s convincing win against referee Osei Nsiah particularly surprising as many expected it to be a close contest.

Brong Ahafo Region provided the closest contest with Ralph Gyambrah edging Dr. Charles Anton by 5 votes. Gyambrah replaces Augustine Asante, who had occupied the seat since 2005.

Linford Asamoah recorded the heaviest victory, polling 109 votes to Nana Budu’s 9 in a one sided victory in the Eastern Region. Asamoah replaces former president AA Lawal, who passed away early this year.

Samuel Aboabiri won the Greater Accra Region while Robert Otieku Duncan won the Central Region.

View all the RFA Election Results below:

Upper East Region:

Salifu Zida 24 votes – Elected

Atiah Junior 8 votes

Upper West Region

Alhaji Biyad Sadugu Yahya – 16

Seidu Bomison – 7

Baba Pele – 11

Central Region:

Robert Otieku Duncan – 63/75 present unanimously approved

Brong Ahafo Region:

Ralph Gyambrah – 52

Dr. Charles Anton – 47

Northern Region

Alhaji Abu Alhassan – 41

Umar Farouk Karimu – 22

Volta Region

Daniel Agbogah – elected unopposed

Ashanti Region

Osei Tutu Agyemang – 41

Referee Osei Nsiah – 29

8. Eastern Region

Linford Asamoah – 109

Nana Budu – 9

Greater Accra

Samuel Aboabri – 71

Rev Emmanuel Ankamah – 14

Dr Albert Arthur – 2

Eugene Jacquaye – 49

Western Region

Simon Ehomah – 47

James Assiedu Kainyah- 28

Mark Bismark Owusu – 26