Parliamentary Primaries: NDC Hit With 17 Petitions

Johnson Asiedu Nketia – General Secretary of NDC

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has been hit with 17 petitions over disqualifications and qualifications of some parliamentary aspirants.

This was contained in a communique issued by the Appeal Committee of NDC.

Signed by Nii Okaija Adamafio, the Communique indicated that the petitions were challenging the qualification or the disqualification of parliamentary aspirants in various constituencies across the country.

It said the petitions and the issues raised were arising from the vetting of the parliamentary aspirants.

The party is expected to hold its parliamentary Primaries on August 24, 2019.

The Appeal Committee is composed of Nii Okaija Adamafio, Chairman; Abraham Amaliba, Inusah Fuseini, Yaw Boating Gyan, Margaret Clarke-Kwesie, all members.

Cleared To Contest

The Communique observed that at the Committee’s sitting in Accra between 6th to 12th August, 2019, it cleared Rebecca Agbogah, Adaklu Constituency; Edward Nii Tetteh Bediako Kraku, Tema East; William Mawuli Ahado, North Tongue; Eva Mam Rawlingsca Atiboka, Builsa North; Mieza-Mea Alleah, Ellembelle; Magdalene Nnemeleh, Krachi West; Daniel Austin Ankumah, KEEA; Joshua Agyadu Nketsia, KEEA; Jonamoah Moses Jehu Appiah, Gomoa Central.


The Committee however disqualified a number of aspirants including Maxwell Okoh Okai, Agona East; Raphael Park, Juaboso; Dr. King Suleman Dima Bachiesichang, Sisala East.

However, further investigations are to be conducted to determine whether to clear or disqualify aspirants including Anthony Awotwe, Mpohor; Albert Nyakotey Tetteh, Yilo Krobo.

BY Melvin Tarlue