Nominations Closed For NDC Primaries

Masawudu Mubarick

DELEGATES of the opposition
National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Ashanti Region will have 15 aspirants
from seven constituencies to choose from in the parliamentary primary elections
expected to be held soon.

Nominations closed on Friday for
the polls ahead of the August 24, showdown.

The seven constituencies are
Sekyere Afram Plains, Ejura-Sekyedumase, Asante-Akyem North, Ahafo Ano North,
Offinso North, New Edubiase and Asawase.

At Sekyere Aframe Plains, former
District Chief Executive, Fuseini Donkor will lock horn with the incumbent
Member of Parliament (MP), Alex Adomako Mensah and Dennis Owusu Dankwah.

For the Asawase Constituency,
incumbent MP Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka and challenger Masawudu Mubarick are
going head-to-head.


By the close of nominations last Friday, 31 individuals
had picked forms to vie for the NDC primaries in the Western Region

The picking of nominations forms in six constituencies
in the region has however, been put on hold.

They include Essikado, Takoradi, Kwesimuntsim, Evalue-Ajomoro-
Gwira, Tarkwa Nsuaem and Amenfi East.

The NDC’s Parliamentary Primaries is slated for August
24, 2019.

Meanwhile, the filing of the nomination forms will be
from July 18 to July 19.

The Western Regional Communications Officer of the NDC,
Richard Kirk-Mensah indicated that only three out of the 31 persons who picked
nomination forms, were women.

He gave their names as Dorcas Afo Toffey, for Jomoro,
Charlotte Odum and Betty Busumtwi-Sam, all for Sekondi constituency.

The Communications Officer emphasized that the incumbent
MP for Wassa East, Isaac Adjei Mensah and the former District Chief Executive
for Prestea Huni-Valley, Wisdom Cudjoe are going unopposed.

He also confirmed that the Deputy Regional
Communications Officer, Ebenezer Essien had picked forms to contest the Ahanta
West primaries.

In the Sekondi constituency, three party activists,
Charles Hagan, Charlotte Odum, and Betty Bosomtwi-Sam picked forms.

Michael Otoo , Peter Avorkadzi, Mohammed Ali also picked
forms to contest the Effia constituency primaries.

In Ellembelle, the incumbent, Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah
would face stiff opposition from five other party activists including Alie Mieza,
Joseph Akpor, Kofi Anaman, Sylvester Enumi Cudjoe, and Obed Buah.

In Shama constituency, Eric Cobbinah, Kojo Appiah, James
Mensah Eshun and Gabriel Kojo Essilfie picked forms to contest the seat while
Eric Kweku Kyeremah and Anthony Awortwe also picked forms in the Mpohor

In Jomoro, Dorcas Afo Toffey and Nda Blay, Ackatiah
Kwadu picked nomination forms and in Ahanta West, Ebenezer Essien, deputy
communications officer, Ebenezer Aidoo and George Kwame Aboagye, former MP,
would battle it out.

Peter Kwakye Ackah, incumbent, Elijah Yaw Jones and
George Kofi Arthur picked forms in Amenfi Central and in Amenfi West, Eric
Afful, the incumbent and Gordon Kofi Sarfo Aidoo picked the nomination forms.

From Ernest Kofi Adu, Kumasi & Emmanuel Opoku, Takoradi