AFCON Updates: Burundi reveal squad for historic maiden appearance


Burundi coach Olivier Niyungeko has announced his final team list for the African Cup of Nations 2019 which is scheduled to kick off in Egypt on June 21.

Burundi have made history after reaching their first-ever Africa Cup of Nations finals finishing ahead of South Sudan and Gabon in the qualifiers’ Group C to qualify along with Mali who lead the group.

The Swallows’ squad contained a lot of unknown names for football fans and followers, with that said it featured former Stoke City striker Saido Berahino.

Burundi were drawn in Group B and will compete against Nigeria in their primary fixture on June 22, before taking on Madagascar and Guinea on June 27 and June 30, respectively.

Burundi full squad:

Goalkeepers: Jonathan Nahimana, Justin Ndikumana, Arthyr Mac Arakaza

Defenders: Frederic Nsabiyumva, Moussa Omar, David Nshimirimana, Ngando Omar, Christophe Nduwarugira, Karim Nizigiyimana

Midfielders: Pierrot Kwizera, Gael Bigirimana, Gael Duhayindavyi, Moustapha Francis, Enock Nsabumukama, Shassir Nahimana

Strikers: Fiston Abdoul-Razak, Saido Berahino, Mohamed Amissi, Cedric Amisi, Shabani Hussein, Elvis Kamsoba, Laudit Mavugo, Selemani Ndikumana.


قالب وردپرس


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here