No change in 2014 World Cup slots


    Fifa logo

    The World Cup is Fifa’s biggest tournament

    Fifa said on Thursday there would be no change in the number of qualification slots allocated to each continent at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

    The decision means that Asia keeps 4.5 places, Oceania half a place, Africa five, Concacaf 3.5 and Europe 13.

    South America remain with 4.5 while Brazil qualify automatically as hosts of the 32-team tournament, as South Africa did in 2010.

    Meanwhile Fifa has chosen Canada to host the women’s World Cup in 2015.

    Canada was the only candidate after Zimbabwe withdrew from the contest because of its lack of infrastructure.

    Canada also will host the women’s under-20 World Cup in 2014 as a test event.

    Fifa also awarded hosting rights for the men’s U20 World Cup to Turkey in 2013 and New Zealand in 2015.

    The men’s U17 World Cup will be staged in the United Arab Emirates in 2013 and Chile in 2015.

    Uzbekistan was chosen by Fifa’s executive committee to host the women’s U20 World Cup in 2012.

    Costa Rica will host the women’s U17 World Cup in 2014.

    Read the original here:
    No change in 2014 World Cup slots