17.2 C
Saturday, July 2, 2022

UEFA Champions League Winners since 2000

The UEFA Champions League is an annual club football competition organized by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) and contested by top-tier European teams, with the competition winners determined via a round-robin group stage to qualify for a double-leg knockout format and a single-leg final.

It is one of the most prestigious football competitions in the world, as well as the most prestigious club competition in European football, and it is competed for by the national league champions (and, in certain cases, one or more runners-up) of their respective national associations.

The European Cup was first held in 1955 as the Coupe des Clubs Champions Européens (French for European Champion Clubs’ Cup), and was initially a straight knockout event available solely to the champions of Europe’s domestic leagues, with the winner considered the European club champion.

Since the 1997–1998 season, the competition has had its current name, with a round-robin group stage added in 1991 and multiple entrants from some countries allowed.

It has now been enlarged, and while most national leagues in Europe can still only enter their champion, the strongest leagues can now field up to four teams.

Teams that finish second to last in their national league after failing to qualify for the Champions League are eligible for the second-tier UEFA Europa League competition, and teams that do not qualify for the UEFA Europa League will be eligible for a new third-tier competition called the UEFA Europa Conference League beginning in 2021.

The Spanish clubs have the most victories (18), followed by England (14), and Italy (13). (12 wins). With five clubs having won the title, England has the most winning teams in the world. 22 clubs have won the competition, 13 of which have won it many times, and eight of which have successfully defended their title.

Real Madrid is the tournament’s most successful club, having won it 13 times, the first five seasons and three years in a row from 2016 to 2018.

Bayern Munich remains the only club to have won all of its matches in a single tournament en route to winning the 2019–2020 season’s tournament. Chelsea are the defending champions, having beaten Manchester City 1–0 in the 2021 finals in Porto.

Below is the list of winners since the year 2000. It features the teams that played in the finals and the cities that hosted it.

The champions of the 2021–22 season will be known after tomorrow’s showdown between Real Madrid FC and Liverpool FC.

2000-01 Bayern Munich (GER) 1-1 (5-4 PKs) Valencia (ESP) Milan  

2001-02 Real Madrid (ESP) 2-1 Bayer Leverkusen (GER) Glasgow  

2002-03 AC Milan (ITA) 0-0 (3-2 PKs) Juventus (ITA) Manchester 

2003-04 Porto (POR) 3-0 AS Monaco (FRA) Gelsenkirchen 

2004-05 Liverpool (ENG) 3-3 (3-2 PKs) AC Milan (ITA) Istanbul 

2005-06 Barcelona (ESP) 2-1 Arsenal (ENG) Saint-Denis  

2006-07 AC Milan (ITA) 2-1 Liverpool (ENG) Athens 

2007-08 Manchester United (ENG) 1-1 (6-5 PKs) Chelsea (ENG) Moscow 

2008-09 Barcelona (ESP) 2-0 Manchester United (ENG) Rome 

2009-10 Inter Milan (ITA) 2-0 Bayern Munich (GER) Madrid  

2010-11 Barcelona (ESP) 3-1 Manchester United (ENG) London  

2011-12 Chelsea (ENG) 1-1 (4-3 PKs) Bayern Munich (GER) Munich 

2012-13 Bayern Munich (GER) 2-1 Borussia Dortmund (GER) London 

2013-14 Real Madrid (ESP) 4-1 (a.e.t) Atletico Madrid (ESP) Lisbon 

2014-15 Barcelona (ESP)  3-1 Juventus (ITA) Berlin 

2015-16 Real Madrid (ESP)  1-1 (5-3 PKs) Atletico Madrid (ESP) Milan 

2016-17 Real Madrid (ESP) 4-1Juventus (ITA) Cardiff

2017-18 Real Madrid (ESP) 3-1Liverpool (ENG ) Kyiv

2018-19 Liverpool (ENG) 2-0Tottenham (ENG) Madrid

2019-20 Bayern Munich (GER) 1-0Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) Lisbon

2020-21 Chelsea (ENG)1-0 Manchester City (ENG) Porto

Content created and supplied by: Foktrends (via Opera
News )

, . , . () , , , , , , , , . / , and/or . , , and/or , and/or

Latest news
Related news