Nana Names Deputy Ministers


President Nana Akufo-Addo yesterday nominated 10 people as deputy regional ministers.

Of the 10 nominees, three are women, as against the substantive regional ministers, who are all men.

He presented the names of the deputies to the Speaker of Parliament, who also communicated it to Members and referred the list to the Appointments Committee.

They are Elizabeth Sackey, former MP for Okaikoi North, nominated for the Greater Accra Region; Elizabeth Agyemang, former MP for Oforikrom, for the Ashanti Region; Solomon Boar, MP for Bunkpurugu, for the Northern Region; Awudu Issahaku for the Upper West Region and Adongo Fuseini, MP for Zebilla, the Upper East Region.

The rest are Evans Opoku, MP for Asunafo North, the Brong-Ahafo Region; Joseph Tetteh, MP for Upper Manya Krobo, nominated for the Eastern Region; Eugenia Gifty Kusi, former MP for Tarkwa-Nsuaem, for the Western Region; Thomas Agyei Baffour, who is the regional organizer of the New Patriotic Party, for the Central and Maxwell Kofi Blagogee for the Volta Region.

The Appointments Committee of Parliament is expected to vet them and confirm their nominations or otherwise.

By Thomas Fosu Jnr