Akufo-Addo appoints Okudzeto, 13 others onto Council of State

President Akufo-Addo has appointed legal luminary Sam Okudzeto, former mayor of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly Stanley Adjiri Blankson and eleven others onto the Council of State.

The appointment was made in pursuant of Article 89(2)(d) of the Constitution, a statement from the Flagstaff House said.

The statement also added that the President is unable to appoint a former chief justice to the council, as required by the constitution, because there is no living former CJ.

The appointment comes ahead of the regional Council of State elections which comes off on Thursday, February 16.

Below is the full list of individuals who have been appointed onto the council of state by the president

  1. Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Juabenhene
  2. Sam Okudzeto
  3. Nana Kofi Obiri Egyir II
  4. Stanley Adjiri Blankson
  5. Alberta Cudjoe
  6. Alhaji Aminu Amadu
  7. Margaret Amoakohene
  8. Alhaji Sahanun Moqtar
  9. Georgina Kusi
  10. Alhaji Sule Yiremiah
  11.  Mr. Paa Kofi

The statement concluded “The President has, subject to the approval of Parliament, also appointed, in accordance with Article 89(2)(a)(ii) and (iii), General J.B. Danquah, a former Chief of Defence Staff of the Armed Forces, and Nana Owusu Nsiah, a former Inspector General of Police, to the Council”