Sarkodie dreams of J. Cole collaboration – Details

Entertainment of Tuesday, 7 February 2017



Sarkodie Suit Blueplay videoSarkodie

Sarkodie’s choice for his next musical collaboration would be one with American Rapper J. Cole.

The former mentioned the ‘False Prophets‘ act when a fan asked him which international rapper he would like to collaborate with, during a question and answer session on Micro blogging site Twitter.

Cole is credited as the first rapper in 25 years to have gone platinum without features with his third studio album 2014 Forest Hills Drive.

He is not exactly keen on collaborations unless there is organic connection between himself and another artiste.

“I don’t think the no-features thing is a goal for Cole. He’s isolated most of the time so he’s not going to reach out to people for a feature. If a feature happened organically, it would make sense,” explains Elite, Cole’s long-time to Complex Magazine sometime after his fourth studio album 4 Your Eyez Only was released.

“It just happens to go that way because he works on his own and he’s not going to seek out people just because they’re a name. He feels like if the song is good, the song is good.”

The latest about Sarkodie’s upcoming album

Rapper Sarkodie released a new song with Nigerian Singer RunTown, popular for his hit single Mad Over You on Friday, February 3, 2017.

The song titled Pain Killer was produced by TSpize. The video of the song was released on the same day.

In an interview late last year, he shared a few details about his upcoming album The Highest.

“What I did not do is plan to do an album cos then you don’t know how to attack it. I’ve just been recording the songs but when I put them together, it makes a perfect album. It has all the stories of life, be it love, hardcore, the typical Sarkodie, witty kind of lyrics, funny songs.”

Sarkodie has four albums to his credit: Makye (2009), Rapperholic (2012), Sarkology (2014) and Mary(2015) which was dedicated to the memory of his grandmother who wanted him to record live.

The 14-track album featured Obrafour, Efya , Bisa Kdei, Mugeez and Chase.