PLAYBACK: President Akufo-Addo names Regional Ministers

Akufo Newnewwnewplay videoPresident Akufo-Addo has been announcing names of persons to hold ministerial portfolios

President Akufo-Addo has named Ministers-designate for all ten regions in the country. These persons if approved will play key roles as mediators representing the views of the region to central government among other roles.

Article 256(1) (b) of the 1992 Constitution empowers the president with the prior approval of parliament, to appoint for each region, a minister who shall represent him in the region.

Some names that have made the list include Simon Osei, immediate past MP for Bosumtwi, Ishmael Ashietey, Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Salifu Saeed, a former DCE for Nanumba.

Ms Gifty Eugenia Kusi, former NPP MP for Tarkwa Nsueam, and Kwamena Duncan, a regu­lar panellist on Peace FM’s ‘Kokrokoo’ are also likely to feature in the list yet to be presented.

The President prior to today, presented 36 names to the Appointments Committee for vetting and approval.