Gov’t reviews curfew hours on Bunkpurugu Township

Mr. Ambrose Dery, the Minister-nominee for Interior, has on the advice of the Northern Regional Security Council and by Executive Instrument, renewed the curfew hours on the Bunkpurugu Township in the Northern Region.

The Bunkpurugu Township curfew starts from 8:00pm to 6:00am effective Tuesday, 17th January, 2017.

This was contained in a statement signed by the Minister-designate on Tuesday.

“Government continues to urge chiefs, opinion leaders, youth and people of the area to exercise restraint in the face of the challenges confronting them and to use non-violent means to channel their energies into ensuring peace in the area,” the statement said.

Meanwhile, it said there was also a total ban on all persons in the Bunkpurugu township and surrounding arrears from carrying arms, ammunition or any offensive weapon and that any person found with such items would be arrested and prosecuted.