4 Pick Positions To Contest NPP National Chairmanship

The four candidates contesting the national chairmanship of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) have picked their positions on the ballot paper, with the incumbent, Mr Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey, taking the number one spot.

The balloting was held in camera at the party’s headquarters in Accra yesterday.

Mr Steven Ntim, a former national vice-chairman, who is making a third bid for the highest position of the NPP, took the number two on the ballot paper.

Mr Paul Afoko, who survived a red flag raised against his eligibility to contest the chairmanship and grilling vetting process, picked the third position, while Mr Fred Oware, a former Chief Executive Officer of the Bui Hydro Energy Development Project, completed the list in fourth position.
Balloting in camera

The acting Director of Communication of the NPP, Mr Perry Okudzeto, who briefed journalists after the balloting in camera, did not have any reason for the in-camera process of balloting adopted by the party.

The Electoral Commission normally undertakes its balloting for positions on the ballot paper for national elections openly, unlike the NPP’s.

Nonetheless, with the completion of balloting for positions for the chairmanship, the battle lines are now clearly drawn for the April 12, 2014 Annual Delegates Conference and National Executive Elections of the NPP scheduled to take place at the Tamale Sports Stadium in the Northern Region.
Hope for victory

All the four candidates have expressed confidence that they will win the chairmanship to prosecute the NPP’s agenda for victory in Election 2016.

Mr Afoko, who was present at the balloting, said: “I entered this contest because I know I’m going to win; if I thought I would not win, I wouldn’t have entered it at all.”