Namibia: Naigambo Smashes 3000 Metres Record

The Namibian (Windhoek)

17 January 2012

BEATA Naigambo was the star of the final leg of the Bank Windhoek Grand Prix series on Saturday when she shattered the Namibian 3 000m record.

Naigambo obliterated the field to win in a new record time of 9:20,34, which was more than 10 seconds faster than the previous record set by Sesilia Iikango in 1998. Naigambo’s dominance was such that she finished more than a minute ahead of second-placed Lavinia Haitope, who finished in a time of 10:38,85.

The final leg of the Grand Prix saw a record turnout of athletes from 13 clubs throughout the country. Jesse Urikhob completed a fine double by winning the men’s 100m and 200m sprints.

The 100m final went down to the wire with Urikhob (10,58) just edging Hitjiverue Kaanjuka (10,67) to the line, while Philippus Paulus came third in 10,77.

In the 200m final Urikhob (21,43) once again pipped Kaanjuka (21,82) to the line while Le Roy Bock came third in 22,02.

The men’s 400m final was also a thriller with Basilius Karupu (47,75) just beating Le Roy Bock (47,92) to the line.

Daniel Nghipandulwa dominated the men’s 800m to win in 1:51,87, finishing well ahead of Oskar Komeya (1:55,68).

Johannes Skrywer won the 1 500m in 4:00,94, beating Nghipandulwa (4:07,07) and Oskar Komeya (4:08,40) to the line.

In the women’s events Globine Majova did the double when she won the 200m and 400m. In the 200m she beat Namibian record holder Tjipe Herunga with a time of 24,57, while Herunga came second in 25,12.

In the 400m Mayova won in a time of 57,66, followed by Silba Tjingaete (59,62) and Ottlie Shiyakela (60,51).

Tjipe Herunga did not compete in her favourite 400m event, but instead focused on the 100m and 200m sprints. In the 100m final she just pipped Cornel Britz to the line to win in a time of 12,80 seconds compared to 12,84.

Welwitschia 77 Athletics Club was the overall winner of the competition, winning both the men’s and women’s categories. They won the men’s category with 89 points, followed by WHS Athletics Club (88) and Ohangwena Star Athletics Club (64).

Welwitschia 77 won the women’s competition with 98 points, followed by Golden Cheetahs Athletics Club (63,5) and Oshakati Athletics Club (49).

AllAfrica – All the Time

More News on