16.6 C
Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Sleuth story wins Blue Peter gong

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

2 March 2011
Last updated at 05:50 ET

Dead Man’s Cove, a tale about an orphaned 11-year-old who turns amateur sleuth, has been named the Blue Peter book of the year.

Lauren St John, who also wrote best-selling novel The White Giraffe, said winning was a “huge honour”.

Deputy Blue Peter editor Joe McCulloch called the story “an absolutely enthralling and entertaining read”.

Marcus Sedgwick’s Lunatics and Luck and Mitchell Symons’ Do Igloos Have Loos? also won prizes.

Awards were given out for favourite story, most fun story with pictures and best book with facts.

Sedgwick’s book, which included illustrations by Pete Williamson, won the prize in the picture category and best book with facts went to Symons.

The favourite of the three categories becomes Blue Peter book of the year.

St John’s Dead Man’s Cove is the first in a series of books, which follow the adventures of Laura Marlin.

“I was speechless when I heard the news,” said the author.

“It makes every line I’ve ever sweated over and every rejection letter I’ve received entirely worth it and proves that if you keep reading and keep dreaming, you can accomplish almost anything.”

The nine shortlisted books and the winners were judged by a selection of Blue Peter viewers.

The Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising the best in children’s literature since 2000.

Read more:
Sleuth story wins Blue Peter gong

Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img