11.3 C
Thursday, February 2, 2023

World Athletics Championships 2022: Keely Hodgkinson, Laura Muir and Dina Asher-Smith headline British team

- Advertisement -

Olympic bronze medalists Josh Kerr and Holly Bradshaw also feature, as does rising young star Max Burgin, who is the fastest man in the world this year over 800m.

Only athletes who both achieved the qualifying standard and finished in the top two at last weekend’s British Championships, which doubled as World Championship Trials, were guaranteed selection, with further places at the discretion of UK Athletics’ selection panel following a meeting on Monday.

However, there may yet be further additions to the British team once World Athletics finalises invites to fill remaining places based on its ranking system on Wednesday.

Asher-Smith had qualified automatically for the 200m on account of her gold medal in Doha in 2019 and will double up in the 100m, though she was beaten in that event at last weekend’s British Championships by team-mate Daryll Neita. Neita also won the 200m – in which Asher-Smith did not compete – but is currently only selected over the shorter distance having not run the 200m qualifying time, as well as in the 4x100m relay.

Getty Images

In the men’s sprints, Adam Gemili has received a discretionary spot to join Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake and Joe Ferguson in the 200m, while Zharnel Hughes and Reece Prescod have been selected over 100m but the British champion in the event, Jeremiah Azu, is only part of the relay team. His 9.90s to take a maiden national title in Manchester was wind-assisted and therefore not eligible as a qualifying mark.

Hodgkinson qualified automatically for the women’s 800m as the 2021 Diamond League champion and is joined by Jemma Reekie and Alex Bell, all three of whom reached the Olympic final in the event last summer. Both Bell and Katie Snowden (1500m) appear to have been rewarded for their displays in Tokyo, having earned discretionary selection after missing Trials.

There were also three Brits in the men’s 1500m in Tokyo, where Kerr is unsurprisingly selected alongside Jake Wightman and Neil Gourley despite only finishing third behind the pair of fellow Scotsmen at Trials.

Getty Images

In the men’s 800m, British champion Burgin is joined by Daniel Rowden and Kyle Langford, who has rediscovered his old form this season after finishing fourth at the 2017 World Championships.

Jessica Judd and Eilish McColgan are both slated to double up in the women’s 5,000m and 10,000m, while world indoor medalist Marc Scott is the pick of the men’s distance team in the 5,000m. Former world indoor champion Andrew Pozzi has earned selection in the 110m hurdles, despite finishing only fourth at Trials.

Olympic pole vault medalist Bradshaw heads the field contingent, while Britain also boast strong squads in both sprint relays and the women’s and mixed 4x400m. However, they did not qualify a men’s 4x400m team, though the in-form Matthew Hudson-Smith goes in the individual event.

The team will be charged with building on a mixed Olympics in Tokyo last summer. Britain were hit by injuries to the likes of Johnson-Thompson and Asher-Smith and left the Games without winning an athletics gold medal for the first time since Atlanta 1996.

However, the middle-distance trio of Muir, Hodgkinson and Kerr proved a shining light as Britain eventually left Tokyo with six medals, though one of those was subsequently stripped as the men’s 4x100m team lost their silver on account of CJ Ujah’s failed drugs test.

Great Britain team in full


100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Daryll Neita, Imani-Lara Lansiquot

200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin

400m: Victoria Ohuruogu, Ama Pipi, Nicole Yeargin

800m: Alex Bell, Keely Hodgkinson, Jemma Reekie

1500m: Melissa Courtney-Bryant, Laura Muir, Katie Snowden

5000m: Jessica Judd, Amy-Eloise Markovc

10,000m: Jessica Judd, Eilish McColgan 3000m Steeplechase: Lizzie Bird, Aimee Pratt

100m Hurdles: Cindy Sember

400m Hurdles: Jessie Knight, Lina Nielsen

Pole Vault: Holly Bradshaw

Long Jump: Lorraine Ugen

Shot Put: Sophie McKinna

Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson

4x100m Relay: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin, Imani-Lara Lansiquot, Daryll Neita, Ashleigh Nelson, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams

4x400m Relay: Zoey Clark, Jessie Knight, Laviai Nielsen, Lina Nielsen, Victoria Ohuruogu, Ama Pipi, Nicole Yeargin

Marathon: Rose Harvey, Jess Piasecki, Charlotte Purdue


100m: Zharnel Hughes, Reece Prescod

200m: Joe Ferguson, Adam Gemili, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake

400m: Matthew Hudson-Smith

800m: Max Burgin, Kyle Langford, Daniel Rowden

1500m: Neil Gourley, Josh Kerr, Jake Wightman

5000m: Sam Atkin, Andrew Butchart, Marc Scott

10,000m: Patrick Dever

110m Hurdles: Andrew Pozzi, Josh Zeller

400m Hurdles: Alastair Chalmers

Pole Vault: Harry Coppell

Discus: Lawrence Okoye

Hammer: Nick Miller

4x100m Relay: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Jeremiah Azu, Jona Efoloko, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Reece Prescod, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake

20km Race Walk: Callum Wilkinson

Marathon: Josh Griffiths, Chris Thompson

Mixed 4x400m Relay: Joe Brier, Lewis Davey, Alex Haydock-Wilson plus Women’s 4x400m Relay squad


Latest news
Related news