5.3 C
Sunday, January 16, 2022

The Top 5 Oldest Universities In Nigeria With The Years Of Establishment.[PHOTOS].

- Advertisement -

I would like to meddle in and bring our own opinions to the fore. Relax as we explore various oldest universities in Nigeria.

Higher institution can be defined literally as an educational institution of collegiate or more advanced grade.

But in broad meaning, it’s defined as any of various types of education given in postsecondary institutions of learning and usually affording, at the end of a course of study, a named degree, diploma, or certificate of higher studies. Higher-educational institutions include not only universities and colleges but also various professional schools that provide preparation in such fields as law, theology, medicine, business, music, and art. Higher education also includes teacher-training schools, junior colleges, and institutes of technology.

There are 426 higher institutions in Nigeria, 162 Universities ( Federal, State and Private), 112 Polytechnics ( Federal, State and Private) and 152 Colleges ( Federal, State and Private) .

Here are the list of the 5 oldest established colleges in Nigeria. Their names, year set up and state found are additionally included.

5. University Of Lagos

The University of Lagos, famously known as UNILAG, is a public exploration college situated in Lagos, Nigeria and was established in 1962. UNILAG is one of the original colleges in Nigeria and is positioned among the top colleges on the planet in significant instruction distributions.

The college as of now has three grounds in the central area of Lagos. While two of its grounds are situated at Yaba (the principle grounds in Akoka and the as of late made grounds at the previous school of radiography), its school of medication is situated at Idi-Araba, Surulere. Its primary grounds is generally encircled by the Lagos tidal pond and has 802 sections of land of land. The University of Lagos currently concedes more than 9,000 college understudies every year.

4. Ahmadu Bello University

Ahmadu Bello University Zaria is a central government research college in Zaria, Kaduna State, Nigeria. ABU was established on 4 October 1962, as the University of Northern Nigeria.

It is named after the Sardauna of Sokoto, Alhaji Sir Ahmadu Bello, the principal head of Northern Nigeria.

The college runs a wide assortment of undergrad and graduate projects (and offers partner degrees and professional and therapeutic projects). It has a huge clinical program with its own ABU Teaching Hospital, one of the biggest showing emergency clinics in Nigeria and Africa.

3. Obafemi Awolowo University

Obafemi Awolowo University which was founded in 1962 as the University of Ife was the brainchild of Chief Obafemi Awolowo. It was renamed Obafemi Awolowo University on 12th May 1987. The decision to establish this institution was in response to the agitations of the Westerners on the need for a higher institution that will cater for the education of their numerous secondary school leavers at that time.

The cause of the agitation was the plan of the then Ashby Commission to establish additional Universities in the Northern and eastern Nigeria without putting the west into consideration. On 8 June 1961, the Law providing for the establishment of the Provisional Council for the University was passed by the Legislature of the Western Region and on the 26th of the same month, Provisional Council of the University was formally inaugurated under the chairmanship of Chief Rotimi Williams. OAU is also one of the highly recommended Universities in Nigeria.

2. College of Nigeria, Nsukka

It was the mission to build up a University in the Eastern piece of Nigeria that brought forth the University of Nigeria. A law on the side of this mission was passed on the eighteenth of May, 1955, and on 7 October 1960, the University was authoritatively opened. Her Royal Highness, Princess Alexandra of Kent, addressing Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II at the Nigerian freedom festivities, played out the initial services and established the framework stone of one of the University’s initial structures.

The University’s first Vice-chancellor was Dr George Marion Johnson, while her present VC is currently Professor Benjamin Chukwuma Ozumba. The University of Nigeria (UNN) was the main undeniable native and first independent college in Nigeria. It is as yet truly outstanding and generally pursued Universities in Nigeria.

1. College of Ibadan (UI)

The University of Ibadan which was established in 1984 transformed from the Yaba Higher College. The Yaba high school was established in 1932 in Yaba, Lagos as the primary tertiary instructive foundation in Nigeria.

In any case, in 1948, when the requirement for a University became squeezing, the school staff were moved to begin the University of Ibadan as an outside school of the University of London, and the school premises were utilized for the new Yaba College of Technology. Rt. Hon. Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, first Prime Minister of free Nigeria was the primary Chancellor, while Kenneth Dike was the principal Nigerian Vice-chancellor of the college, later whom the University of Ibadan’s library is named.

Like and share this article with others

Follow me for more amazing articles like this

Just search for Shevchenko.


Content created and supplied by: Shevchenko (via Opera
News )

, . , . () , , , , , , , , . / , and/or . , , and/or , and/or

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here