14.5 C
Sunday, June 16, 2024

Dede Ayew remains committed to Black Stars – Spokesperson of Ayew family reacts latest snub –

The dedication and commitment of Black Stars skipper Andre Dede Ayew to the national team’s cause remain resolute, Fiifi Tackie, the spokesperson for the Ayew family, has stated.

This message came shortly after coach Otto Addo announced his decision to exclude Dede Ayew from the Black Stars squad for the 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Mali and the Central African Republic, seeking to clarify Andre Ayew’s next action.

In a social media post on Wednesday, May 29, 2024, Fiifi Tackie shared that since his debut in 2007, Andre Ayew has remained loyal and steadfast to the country and will not renege on that commitment.

“Andre Ayew’s dedication to Ghana is unwavering and lifelong, a commitment that began in his childhood and remains unshakable to this day. Through thick and thin, he stands proudly as a son of the nation, his passion and loyalty to Ghana burning bright for all to see. Today, tomorrow, and forever, Andre Ayew’s heart beats for Ghana,” he said.

Andre Ayew was undoubtedly the most notable absentee from the 26-man list released by coach Otto Addo on Wednesday for the doubleheader in June 2024.

Revealing the background work leading up to the squad announcement, Otto Addo explained that he had conversations with Andre Ayew and that the Black Stars skipper was not entirely convinced by his decision to exclude him from the squad.

According to Otto Addo, the Black Stars skipper did not agree with the decision to be dropped from the squad, but despite Ayew’s opposition, he still holds him in high regard.

“I had a long talk with André and gave him the reasons why he is not in the squad. I talk to players directly and don’t like to disclose information about our discussions. This is the decision we took, and it’s not like he necessarily agreed, but I still have great respect for him,” he said.

Below is the full squad:


• Gideon Mensah (AJ Auxerre)

• Ebenezer Annan (FK Novi Pazar)

• Mohammed Salisu (AS Monaco)

• Jerome Opoku (Istanbul Basaksehir)

• Abdul Mumin (Rayo Vallecano)

• Alexander Djiku (Fenerbahce Istanbul)

• Alidu Seidu (Stade Rennes)

• Tariq Lamptey (Brighton & Hove Albion)


• Mohammed Kudus (West Ham United)

• Ernest Nuamah (Olympique Lyon)

• Salis Abdul Samed (RC Lens)

• Ibrahim Sulemana (Cagliari Calcio)

• Edmund Addo (FK Radnicki Nis)

• Thomas Partey (FC Arsenal)

• Elisha Owusu (AJ Auxerre)

• Abu Francis (Cercle Brugge)


• Osman Bukari (RS Belgrade)

• Issahaku Abdul Fatawu (Leicester City, on loan from Sporting CP)

• Antoine Semenyo (Bournemouth)

• Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace)

• Ibrahim Osman (FC Nordsjaelland)

• Kamaldeen Sulemana (FC Southampton)

• Brandon Thomas-Asante (West Bromwich Albion)

Source: www.ghanaweb.com

Latest news
Related news