Amewu is NPP Parliamentary Candidate for Hohoe

Edwards Williams, GNA

Hohoe (V/R), Nov.
11, GNA – Mr John Peter Amewu, Minister for Energy has been elected the New
Patriotic Party (NPP) Parliamentary Candidate for the Hohoe Constituency
through popular acclamation for the 2020 general elections.

Mr Amewu was elected
during the 2019 Extraordinary Delegates Conference held by the Party in Hohoe.

Mr Anthony
Kondobrey, the NPP Hohoe Constituency Chairman, said since there was only one
candidate from the Constituency contesting to represent the Party in
Parliament, there was the need for an acclamation of Mr Amewu by the delegates
to show their approval of his candidature.

Mr Makafui Woanya,
Volta Regional NPP Chairman, said the role of Party executives at the regional,
constituency and polling station levels was crucial and must be intensified for
the Party to win the 2020 presidential and parliamentary elections.

He said government’s
policies and programmes must be preached to the citizenry for the Party to be
retained in the 2020 general elections.

The Regional
Chairman noted that the Hohoe Constituency had been voting for the NDC for a
long time, yet there was “no development in the Constituency” and
that the NPP was ready to change the narrative. 

Mr Woanya described
Mr Amewu as a valuable asset to the Party and the Constituency and should be
given the needed support to turn things around in Hohoe. 

Togbe Agyeman V,
Chief of Gbi Abansi, said the good works of Mr Amewu qualified him as a
candidate for the development of the Constituency.

Mr John Peter Amewu
was introduced to the delegates and the public by Mr Kwabena Karikari, the
Hohoe Municipal Electoral Officer and later sworn in as the NPP Parliamentary
Candidate for the Hohoe Constituency.

Mr Amewu expressed
gratitude to the delegates for the acclamation and pledged to work for the
development of the Constituency with support of the delegates.

He urged the
delegates, Party members and electorate in Hohoe to help the Party win the
Hohoe Constituency Parliamentary seat come December 2020.

Solidarity messages
were delivered by the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the Progressive
People’s Party (PPP).

The Conference was
attended by Constituency and polling station executives, former and present NPP
regional executives from Volta and Oti regions, Ministers, members of TESCON in
the Volta Region, and traditional and religious leaders.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here