2nd edition of National Energy Quiz begins Wednesday

General News of Tuesday, 19 November 2019

Source: Michael Teye


The prelims will begin on Wednesday, 20th November, 2019 at the Krobo Girls Senior High School

Some 96 schools across Ghana are set for a fierce battle for this year’s Nana Sir Ofori-Atta I National Energy Quiz trophy.

With participating schools increased from five in the first edition in 2018 to the current number, the schools are seeking to qualify from their respective zones after the balloting pitched the schools against each other.

The contests will run at seven zones including Somanya, Akuapem, Kibi, Asamankese, Oda, Juaben and Kwahu where winners of the contests will proceed to the quarter-finals.

One school from each zone will host the preliminary contests. They include Krobo Girls Senior High School, Abuakwa State College, Mamfe Methodist Girls Senior High School, Oyoko Methodist SHS, Asamankese Senior High School, Church of Pentecost, Oda, Nkawkaw Senior High School and Nkwatia Senior High School.

The prelims will begin on Wednesday, 20th November, 2019 at the Krobo Girls Senior High School with a fierce contest with successful schools qualifying for the quarter-finals and subsequently to the semi-finals and ultimately to the grande finals where all competing schools across the country are hopeful of lifting the coveted NEQ trophy in December.

The competition which is designed to empower Senior High and Technical Schools with knowledge in the entire energy value chain including petroleum upstream and downstream, power generation, transmission and distribution, will focus on Power, Petroleum and Culture.

It equally aims at educating the youth in both Senior High Schools (SHS) and Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) on the energy sector.

The NEQ is sponsored by the Goil Company Limited, Ghana Grid Company Limited, The Energy Commission, Ghana Maritime Authority, Ghana National Gas Company Limited and the Petroleum Commission.

The annual competition is run under the auspices of the Nananom of the Eastern Regional House of Chiefs, jointly organized by Eastern Star Awards Co. Limited in partnership with the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools (CHASS) and coordinated in collaboration with the Ghana Education Service and the Ministry of Energy.

Its Board Members include, Mr Fred Oware, Chief Executive Officer of Bui Power Authority, Ben Asante, Upstream Petroleum, Ministry of Energy, Dr. A. K. Ofosu Ahenkorah, Executive Secretary, Energy Commission, Ing Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, CEO, VRA, Ing Jonathan Amoako-Baah, CEO, GRIDCo and Samuel Atta-Akyea, Minister of Works and Housing.

The rest are Kwame Osei Prempeh, Ag MD/Group CEO, GOIL, Alhassan S. Tampoli, CEO, NPA, Okotwasuo Kantamanto Oworae Agyekum, Omanhene of Akyem-Bosome Traditional Area, Rev Munyuhitum, President, CHASS Eastern region and Humphrey Tetteh, CEO, Eastern star Awards.