Pru records 68 still births, nine maternal deaths

Dennis Peprah, GNA

Yeji, (B/ER), July 22, GNA – The Pru East
and Pru West Districts of the Bono East Region recorded sixty-eight still
births in 2018 due to lack of incubators, statistics from the District
Directorate of Health has revealed.

Nine cases of maternal deaths were also
recorded in 2017, and health officials attributed the deaths to lack of
motorbikes for health personnel to undertake outreach programmes in
hard-to-reach communities.

That not with standing, the directorate
achieve 92 per cent coverage  under the
Expanded Programme on Immunization (EPI) due to committed and selfless services
by health officials in the districts.

Interacting with Mr Augustine Collins Ntim,
a Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development at Yeji, during a
visit to the area, Madam Della Kpodo, the Pru East District Director of Health,
said it had been difficult to cross over the Volta Lake and reach out to the
about 64 communities.

She said the St Matthias Hospital had only
one incubator, and appealed to philanthropic organisations, individuals and
corporate bodies to come to their aid.

Madam Kpodo who has oversight responsibility
for the Pru West District, appealed to pregnant women to check their eating
habit and  attend regular antenatal clinics
to save their lives and their unborn babies.

Mr Ntim who is the Deputy Minister in-charge
of Rural Economic Development and Agriculture, directed the Pru District
Assembly to procure two motorbikes for the health directorate to enable it to
intensify outreach programmes.

He described cases of still births and
maternal deaths in the two districts as alarming, unfortunate and unacceptable
and tasked the directorate to collaborate with all stakeholders and do more to
bring the situation under control.

Mr Joshua Kwaku Abonkrah, the Pru District
Chief Executive, stressed the Assembly’s readiness and commitment to improve on
health infrastructure, and appealed to health personnel to accept postings to
serve in the two districts.