2019 AFCON: Who wins goal king award

Sports News of Tuesday, 18 June 2019

Source: ghanacrusader.com


Dede won the goal king in 2015 with three goals

The Total 2019 Africa Cup of Nations which happens to be the 32nd edition will be hosted by Egypt.

Today, we bring you up to speed with the top scorers of the Afcon since the year 2000 and Andre Dede Ayew and Mubarak Wakaso were the only Ghanainas who were able to make the list.

Surprisingly all time African top scorer at the FIFA World Cup Asamoah Gyan couldn’t make the list.

AFCON 2000: Co-host ( Ghana & Nigeria)

Shaun Bartlett from South Africa emerged as the top scorer with 5 Goals.

AFCON 2002: Host Nation- Mali

Julius Aghahowa (Nigeria),Patrick Mboma (Cameroon) and Rene Salomon Olembe (Cameroon) became joint top scorers with 3 goals each.

AFCON 2004 : Host Nation- Tunisia

Patrick Mboma (Cameroon),Frederic Kanoute (Mali),Jay Jay Okocha(Nigeria),Youssef Mokhtari (Morocco),Francileudo Dos Santos (Tunisia) with 4 goals each became the top scorers.

AFCON 2006: Host Nation-Egypt

Samuel Etoo of Cameroon became the top scorer with 5 goals in the tournament.

AFCON 2008: Host Nation- Ghana

Samuel Etoo of Cameroon for the second time in a row became the top scorer with 5 goals.

AFCON 2010: Host Nation- Angola

Egypt’s Mohamed Nagy with 5 goals emerged the top scorer.

AFCON 2012:C0-Host- Gabon & Equatorial Guinea

Manucho( Angola),Didier Drogba( Ivory Coast),Pierre-Emereck Aubameyang(Gabon),Cheick Diabate(Mali),Christopher Katongo(Zambia),Emmanuel Mayuka(Zambia),Houssine Kharfa(Morocco) became joint top-scorers with 3 goals each.

AFCON 2013: Host Nation-South Africa

Once again we got Mubarak Wakaso(Ghana) and Emmanuel Emenike(Nigeria) with 4 goals each became the joint top scorers.

AFCON 2015: Host Nation-Equatorial Guinea

Thievy Bifouma(Congo),Andre Ayew(Ghana),Dieumerci Mbokani(DR Congo),Jvaier Balboa(Equatorial Guinea),Ahmed Akaichi(Tunisia) with 3 goals each became the joint top-scorers.

AFCON 2017: Host Nation-Gabon

DR Congo’s Junior Kabananga emerged the top scorer with 3 goals.

AFCON 2019:Host Nation-Egypt

Who wins the top scorer award?

قالب وردپرس