2019 AFCON Updates: Ghana’s opponent,Cameroun reveal squad

Cameroon head coach Clarence Seedorf has named his final squad that will head to Egypt to take part in the 2019 AFCON.

The defending champions are placed in Group F alongside Ghana, Guinea Bissau, and Benin. Their opening game will be against Guinea Bissau on June 25, before facing Ghana and Benin on June 29 and July 2 respectively.

The Indomitable Lions will be without Vincent Aboubakar, who scored the winner in last tournament’s final, as Seedorf decided not to add him to the final squad due to fitness concerns.

On the other hand, 35-year-old Carlos Kameni has made the list as he is set to feature in his sixth continental tournament after playing in the 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2010 editions.

However, Kameni will probably be a backup to Ajax’s goalkeeper Andre Onana, who played a key role in guiding the Dutch team to the Champions League semi-finals.

Premier League-based players Gaetan Bong and Zambo Anguissa also made the cut alongside former Tottenham forward Clinton Njié and Karl Toko Ekambi of Villarreal.

Seedorf also named PSG winger Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting in the squad as well as 2017 AFCON best player Christian Bassogog.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Andre Onana (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Fabrice Ondoa (Oostende, Belgium), Carlos Kameni (Fenerbahce, Turkey).

Defenders: Collins Fai (Standard Liege, Belgium), Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (Montpellier, France), Yaya Banana (Panionios, Greece), Gaetan Bong (Brighton, England), Jean Armel Kana-Biyik (Kayserispor, Turkey), Dawa Tchakonte (Mariupol, Ukraine).

Midfielders: Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Fulham, England), Georges Mandjeck (Maccabi Haifa), Pierre Kunde Malong (Mainz, Germany), Arnaud Djoum (Hearts, Scotland), Wilfrid Kaptoum (Betis Sevilla, Spain).

Forwards: Stephane Bahoken (Angers, France), Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting (PSG, France), Karl Toko Ekambi (Villareal, Spain), Jacques Zoua (Astra, Romania), Clinton Njie (Marseille, France), Christian Bassogog (Henan, China), Joel Tagueu (Maritimo, Portugal), Olivier Boumal (Panionos, Greece).

Source: Starr Sports

قالب وردپرس