We’ll make public report on peacekeepers’ misconduct – Dery

General News of Friday, 9 November 2018

Source: citinewsroom.com


Dery Ambrose   PAC  Ambrose Dery, Interior Minister

The Interior Minister, Ambrose Dery, has assured Parliament the findings of investigations into the conduct of 46 Ghanaian Police officers repatriated from South Sudan for sexual misconduct will be made public when completed.

According to him, a United Nations’ (UN) independent body is investigating the issue together with a team of investigators from the police service.

The policemen, who were dismissed and brought back in February on administrative grounds, have been re-integrated into the service as the Ministry awaits the outcome of the investigation.

Responding to questions on the floor of Parliament, Ambrose Dery said the investigative report will be ready by the end of this year.

“It is a work in progress until it is completed; we will make it available to the citizens of Ghana. The investigations will tell us who is responsible and if we find any culpable, they will go through due process, and appropriate sanctions taken, but for now, they remain personnel of the Ghana Police,” the Minister explained.

“Since then, I have had engagement with the police and have reiterated the commitment of the police service, and the government and in consonance of the Ghanaian standard that they do hold Ghana’s flag high outside.”

The investigation into the conduct of the officers began after reports emerged that they were having transactional sex with women living in one of the protection camps with gifts or favors given in exchange for the encounters.

Fourteen out of the forty-six police personnel who were repatriated from South Sudan for alleged sexual misconduct were initially interdicted by the Ghana Police Service.

The 14 interdicted police officers were:

Desupol/Mr. Henry Ntikura Agyemang

Sgt Richard Boahen Amponsah

CPL. Degraft Osei Nyantakyi

CPL. K. Dodzi Homey

CPL. Kennedy Agyei

CPL. Imoro Dandzumah

CPL. Isaac Frimpong

L/CPL Bismark Eyram Dunyo

L/CPL Douglas Ofori

L/CPL David Asinyo

L/CPL Ibrahim Issaku Musah

L.CPL Kingsley Etse Lotsu

قالب وردپرس



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here