Nigeria names final squad for 2018 AWCON

Sports News of Thursday, 8 November 2018



Nigeria’s Coach, Thomas Dennerby

Thomas Dennerby, head coach of Nigeria’s female football team, has announced a 21-member squad for the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON), to be hosted in Ghana.

The Super Falcons, who are defending champions would be making their 13th appearance at this year’s tournament having won it on a record ten 10 times.

Ogonna Chukwudi (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden) and Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons) who are currently in camp with the team in Abidjan did not make the squad.

Nigeria, are in Group B, together with rivals South Africa, Kenya and Zambia and they would be based in Cape Coast.

The tournament, which kick starts in 17 November to December 1, would see eight countries compete for three spots at 2019 FIFA Women World Cup to be held in France in June, 2019.

Nigeria are expected to arrive in Ghana on Wednesday, November 14 as they gear up for their group opener against Nigeria in Cape Coast on November 18, 2018.

Below is the list 21 players:

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels).

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden).

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden).

Forwards: Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons); Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan).

قالب وردپرس