Parliament approves Akufo-Addo’s SC nominees

General News of Wednesday, 26 September 2018



File photo

Parliament on Tuesday approved President Akufo-Addo’s nominees for the Supreme Court.

They are; Justice Samuel K. Marful-Sau, Justice of Appeal; Justice Agnes M. A. Dordzie, Justice of Appeal; Prof. Nil Ashie Kotey, former Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Ghana, Legon; and Nene A. O. Amegatcherr, Private legal practitioner and former President of the Ghana Bar Association.

President Akufo-Addo is likely to swear them into office in the coming days. Some five justices were sworn in to the Court of Appeal in April.

Their elevation on the bench comes after the retirement of Justice William Atuguba, one of the longest-serving judges of the Supreme Court.

قالب وردپرس