GJA launches 2017 Awards Committee

By Gifty
Amofa, GNA

Accra, Sept. 20, GNA – An eight-member Awards
Committee has been inaugurated by the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) in
Accra to select deserving journalists for the different categories of awards
scheduled for October 27.

The Committee is chaired by Dr Doris Yaa Dartey,
a Journalist/Development and Organisational Communications Consultant, with
members including Mr Albert Sam, Journalist of the Year-1991, Mrs Tina
Aforo-Yeboah, former Editor of Spectator, Mrs Betty Apau-Opong, the immediate past
Director of Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, Mr Gabriel Bosompem, a former
Journalist of TV3, and Mr Peter Martey Agbeko, the first Director of the Ghana
International Press Centre.

The rest are Mr Kwasi Kpodo, Financial
Correspondent of Reuters News in Ghana and Mr Akwasi Agyeman, a Journalist with
over 20 years’ experience.

The Chairman of the National Media Commission,
Mr Gyan Appenteng, said no nation could thrive without the contribution of
journalists and commended the Committee for accepting to work with the GJA.

He said the Committee members were men and
women of integrity who were committed to ensuring deserving journalists were

He suggested that the Committee became a
standing one for the GJA awards based on members’ experience and tenacity to

Dr Dartey thanked the GJA Executive for the
confidence reposed in them and said it was the first time all members were
retained to serve a second term.

She, therefore, pledged the Committee’s
dedication and commitment to delivering the task assigned to it.

Dr Dartey said the Committee would not toy
with the confidence reposed in it but would work hard with integrity to deliver
as expected.

Describing the assignment as “delicate,” she
asked for the trust and support of all GJA members adding; “With our collective
experience, we will not let the GJA down.” 

Dr Dartey, who had served on the Committee for
seven years, said it would work to meet the five-week deadline of declaring the
award winners. 

Mrs Audrey Dekalu, the Treasurer of the GJA,
noted that the members of the Committee were retained because of the excellent
work they did last year, within a two-week period, and commended them for that

She said the GJA awards had come to stay and
thus the experienced journalists on the Committee would help bring out winners
who truly deserved.

The 23rd GJA Awards was launched on
August 30, under the theme: “State of Investigative Journalism, Boundaries of
Privacy and Borders of Public Interest”.

All entries should cover works published from
January 1 to December 31, 2017.

Among the categories are best columnist, best
morning show (TV/Radio), best student journalist, GJA/Kombla Dumor Most
Promising Student Journalist, and Democracy and Peace-building media house.


قالب وردپرس