$100K saga: No official indiscretion by government – Alan

General News of Friday, 12 January 2018

Source: classfmonline.com


Trade Minister, Alan Kyerematen before the 5-member committee probing into the 100k saga

Trade Minister Alan Kyerematen has said that the role of the ministry in relation to the cash-for-seat saga cannot be classified as official indiscretion.

Mr Kyerematen who appeared before the five-member committee hearing the case of alleged payment of $100,000 by some expatriates in order to sit at the Presidential table insisted throughout the sitting that the ministry did no wrong in aiding the organisation of the awards to honour expatriate businessmen in Ghana.

Even though some critics indicate that the ministry exercised indiscretion in its involvement in the programme, Mr Kyerematen told the committee on Friday, January 12 that: “There is no evidence of official indiscretion except as conjured in the minds of some individuals”.

Meanwhile, Mr Kyeremateng also revealed that: “17 persons, including His Excellency the President” in total, were at the presidential high table on the night of the programme.

“Mr Chairman, for the avoidance of doubt, none of the persons mentioned made a contribution of $100,000 prior to the event,” he stated.

He further explained that: “There were representatives of organisations who did not make any monetary contributions before and after the event. There were three of them; these were individuals who were seated at the high table but made no contributions either before or after the event”.

Additionally, Mr Kyeremateng told the committee that: “The number of persons on the list under reference who made contributions prior to the event were seven” adding that two individuals also made contributions after the event.

“I know that there was one individual who was seated on the high table who has come out publicly to confirm that he paid GHS 13,000,” he further clarified.

Below is the full list of persons on the President’s table at the awards night:

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

Trade Minister, Alan Kyeremateng

Carlos Ahenkorah, Deputy Trade Minister

Mr Ashim Morton, President of Millennium Excellence Foundation

Mr. Amarh Hari, Chief Executive of IPMC

Mr. Ashok Mohinani, Chairman of Mohinani Group

Mr Salem Kalmoni, Chief Executive of Japan Motors

Jerry John Rawlings and his wife

Mr. Saied Fakhry, Executive Chairman of Interplast Ghana Limited

Ms. Roshi Motman, Chief Executive of AirtelTigo Ghana

Mr. Jim O’Brien, Founder and Executive Chairman of Zenith Bank Group

Mr Bhagwan Khubchandani, Chief Executive of Melcom Ghana.

Mr. David Haper, Chief Executive of Geodrill Ghana

Mr. Mike Tacwani, Chief Executive of B Pipe Plus Ghana

Yofi Grant, CEO of GIPC

Yeo Ziobeieton, Chief Executive of Unilever Ghana

Ishmael Ashitey, Greater Accra Regional Minister

قالب وردپرس



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here