Government announces Council chairmen for UNIS

General News of Friday, 14 July 2017



Justice Dotse SldkdSupreme Court Judge, Justice Jones Dotse

Supreme Court Judge, Justice Jones Dotse has been appointed chairman of the Council for the University of Allied Sciences in the Volta region by President Akufo-Addo.

The appointment was contained in the list of chairmen for the councils for some seven public universities outdoored by government Friday.

The announcement comes after a Winneba High Court held an application to restrain the Vice Chancellor Prof. Mawutor Avokeh and Finance Officer of the University of Education, from holding office until a case brought against them is determined.

The orders were part of the reliefs granted for the interlocutory injunction sought by the plaintiff, Supi Kofi Kwayera, in the case brought against the University which insisted that the Vice Chancellor and the Finance Officer were operating under the institution’s defunct governing council.

The Court presided over by His Lordship Ato Mills- Graves also issued a 14-day ultimatum to the Ministry of Education to reconstitute the governing council of the University of Education, Winneba and also awarded an amount of GHC4,000 against the university.

Below is the list of board chairmen announced by government

Council Chairmen for Universities

University of Ghana: Prof. Yaw Twumasi

KNUST: Prof Emeritus Kwame Sarpong

University of Cape Coast: Mrs Nancy Thompson

University of Education: Prof Emmanuel Abakah

University of Health and Allied Sciences: Justice Jones Dotse

University of Development Studies: Mr Nutifafa Kuenyehia

University of Mines: Dr. Stephen Saforo Yirenkyi

قالب وردپرس



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here