2 MPs Out Of ECOWAS, Pan African Parliaments

Sarah Adwoa Safo and Osei Bonsu Amoah
Two Ghanaian parliamentarians, Sarah Adwoa Safo and Osei Bonsu Amoah, have resigned from the Pan African and the ECOWAS Parliaments respectively.

Their resignations were occasioned by their appointments as Minister of Procurement and Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development respectively by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Per the protocol and rules of the ECOWAS Parliament, an executive member of government is not required to represent a country at that legislative assembly.

Member of Parliament (MP) for Effutu, Alexander Afenyo-Markin and Cynthia Mamle Morrison, MP for Agona West, have meanwhile, been appointed to replace the above-mentioned ministers.

The ECOWAS Parliament, also known as the Community Parliament, is a forum for dialogue, consultation and consensus for representatives of the people of West Africa with the aim of promoting integration. The Pan African Parliament was established to ensure the full participation of African peoples in the development and economic integration of the continent.