L’aine launches entrepreneurship clubs in seven schools

L’AINE Foundation has launched its Entrepreneurship Club in the Greater Accra Region.

Covering 12 schools within the Ledzekuku-KroworMunicipality (LEKMA), the Entrepreneurship Club seeks to build and improve students’ proficiency in leadership and problem-solving. 

This comes after the foundation trained Circuit supervisors/GES Officers and teachers to help develop the entrepreneurial traits of students in various schools and to discuss modalities of the clubs.

In addressing the students, Mrs. Joyce Boeh-Ocansey, Senior Executive in the Chief Executive’s Office, highlighted the objective of L’AINE Foundation which is to develop the entrepreneurial traits in students and make them future business owners regardless their interest, knowledge or skills acquired, hence the establishment of clubs by L’AINE Foundation.”

The Director of LEKMA GES, Mr. Yaw FosuDanquah, also gave a brief and inspirational speech, which directed the thoughts of children towards making a life for themselves and most importantly, making a living for themselves from their ideas.

Club Masters for the various schools were introduced to the officers and students present with students showing enthusiasm and readiness to have the club commence. It is this belief of the Foundation that the Entrepreneurship Club (EC) initiative will go a long way to support government’s vision of creating an entrepreneurial economy where graduates of our numerous tertiary institutions are able to start their own business right after school other than wait for the government to employ them.

The schools within the Ledzekuku-Krowor Municipality that were visited included: QuayeNungua R/C Basic JHS, Methodist 2 JHS, Methodist 1 JHS, LEKMA 4 JHS, LEKMA 2 JHS, Nungua Anglican 1 JHS, LEKMA 12 JHS, Dar-Es-Salaam A, Dar-Es-Salaam B&C, Teshie Jordan, Teshie Camp 2 and United Church.

The club sessions are expected to begin on 24th February in the various schools.

Officers representing L’AINE Foundation, the Ghana Education Service, Ledzekuku-Krowor Municipal Assembly were: Dr. Mrs. Ellen Hagan, Mrs. Joyce Boeh-Ocansey, Mr. Daniel Annang, Joel Tofah (the L’AINE Foundation team), and Mr. Yaw FosuDanquah, Director of LEKMA GESMr. Richard Gyimah, Technical and Vocational Coordinator, and Mrs. NaaAkushikaAcquaye, PRO.