Bribery scandal: Ayariga trip halts Committee sitting

Joe Ghartey AyarigabriberyJoe Ghartey is Chair for the five-member committee to oversee the bribery case

The five-member committee formed by parliament to investigate bribery allegations against the leadership of the Appointments Committee of Parliament and Energy Minister Boakye Agyarko cannot commence work on Monday February 13.

This follows the absence of Mahama Ayariga, Bawku Central Member of Parliament who made the allegations against the leadership of parliament. Mr Ayariga is out of the country to attend an ECOWAS parliamentary session in Nigeria.

Mr Ayariga and two members of the Appointments Committee, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa and Alhassan Suhuyini, petitioned Speaker Mike Oquaye to investigate the allegations.

After deliberations on the floor of parliament, the Speaker, Professor Mike Ocquaye, set up the committee comprising Ben Abdallah Banda – MP for Offinso South, Magnus Kofi Amoatey – Yilo Krobo, Ama Pomaa Boateng – Juaben, and Benson Tongo Baba – Talensi and its chairman, Joe Ghartey – Essikado Ketan.