Parliament approves fifth batch of ministerial nominees

Parliament on Friday approved all 11 ministerial nominees of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo who have been vetted during the week. 

The approval was contained in the 5th report of Parliament’s Appointment Committee signed by the Chairman of the Committee, Joe Osei Wusu.  

The ministers-designates vetted this week and who have been approved by consensus include the nominee for Tourism, Arts and Culture, Catherine Abelema Afeku; minister-designate for Parliamentary Affairs, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu; minister-designate for Planning, Professor Gyan Baffour and minister-designate for Youth and Sports, Isaac Asiamah.

Others are minister-designate for Business Development, Awal Ibrahim Mohammed, minister-designate for Special Business Initiative, Mavis Hawa Koomson, minister-designate for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Kofi Dzamesi and minister-designate for Aviation, Cecilia Dapaah.

Also, the minister-designate for Inner City and Zongo development, Boniface Abubakar Saddique, nominee for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Elizabeth Afoley Quaye and minister-designate for Information, Mustapha Hamid were also approved.

The last batch of 36 nominees awaits being sworn-in by the President most likely on Friday so they start work officially on Monday. 

The next batch of appointees to be vetted by the Committee are the regional and deputy ministers.   

In a related development, here has been a change in date of the Appointments Committee hearing on the President’s nominations for Regional Ministerial Appointments.

However, the original hearing which was scheduled to start from February 13 – 15 has been rescheduled to start from February 14-16.