8-member delegation to represent Ghana at ECOWAS Parliament

General News of Wednesday, 25 January 2017

Source: gbcghana.com


Flags Of Some ECOWAS Member States Flags of some ECOWAS member states  

Parliament has constituted an eight-member group to represent Ghana in the ECOWAS Parliament.

The representatives led by the Majority Chief Whip Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh will help the Community Parliament in its advisory role in considering matters concerning the region particularly on issues relating to fundamental human rights and freedom and make recommendations to institutions and organs of ECOWAS.

Members of the delegation are O.B Amoah, Member of Parliament (MP) for Akwapim South, Ama Pomaah Boateng Andoh MP for Juaben, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, Effutu MP, Kwabena Appiah-Pinkrah member for Akrofuom.

The rest are member for Anlo, Clement Kofi Humado, Mahama Ayariga, Bawku Central MP and Sampson Ahi, MP for Bodi.

The House also formed a 5-member delegation to represent Ghana in the Pan-African Parliament. It will be led by the first Deputy Speaker Joseph Osei-Owusu.

The Members of the Pan African Parliament representatives are Sarah Adwoa Safo, Deputy Majority Leader, Yaw Afful, MP for Jaman South, Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, Minority Chief Whip and Joseph Yieleh Chireh Member for Wa West.

They will also help the Pan African Parliament in the attainment of its aims and objectives including facilitating the effective implementation of policies and objectives of the African Union, promote the principles of human rights and democracy in Africa and encourage good governance, transparency and accountability in member States.