Parliament constitutes emergency committee of selection

Parliament has appointed a 20-member committee to act as the emergency committee of selection, for the 7th parliament of the 4th Republic.

The mandate of this committee is to compose the various standing and select committees of Parliament so that the work of committees in the House can begin in earnest.

The Majority Leader, Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu on the floor of Parliament, explained that “the committee of selection cannot procreate itself, so it was important for leadership to constitute that committee in consultation with the Speaker.”

The 20-member committee of selection will be chaired by the Speaker of Parliament, Aaron Michael Oquaye.


The members are: Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu, Sarah Adwoa Safo, Kwesi Ameyaw Kyeremeh, Matthew Nyindam, Moses Anim, Dominic Nitiwul, Ambrose Dery, Ignatius Baffow Awuah, Daniel Botwe, Ama Pomaa, Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Cynthia Morrison, Haruna Iddrisu, Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah, Ebenezer Terlabi, James Klutse Avedzi, Collins Dauda and Comfort Doyoe.

The committee consists of a mix of Majority and Minority parliamentarians, as the leadership of the house has agreed on a formula of 61 to 39 ratio for the composition of committees and delegations for the House.

By: Duke Mensah Opoku/