Okomfo Kwaadee wows at RTP Awards

Entertainment of Monday, 24 October 2016

Source: Graphic.com.gh


Kwadee Stage Ghanawebplay videoOkomofo Kwadee on stage at the 2016 RTP Awards

Hiplife artiste, Kwaadee who has been missing from the scene for many years proved to the audience at last Saturday’s Radio Television Personality (RTP) Award that he still has what it takes to compete with the best in the industry.

Kwaadee’s repertoire of old hit songs was enough to get many in the audience on their feet dancing and singing along as many attempted to catch a glimpse of the veteran artiste.

Some of the songs from Kwadee that sent patrons down memory lane include Yeko Mmaa Pe, Efienipa, Abrantie, Ahweedee Abena, Obaa No among others.

The RTP Award which is in its sixth year was established to reward deserving personalities in the radio and television sector within the country who have performed admirably in the year under review.

On Saturday, Sports Presenter, Patrick Osei-Agyeman aka Country-Man Songo, host of Fire-for-Fire Asempa FM and Adom TV took home the biggest award of the night and was crowned the Radio and Television Personality for 2016.

Compared to previous editions of the RTP Awards, the show was characterised by minimal technical challenges although the event started almost an hour after the scheduled time of 8:30pm with the auditorium barely half-full.

Afropop artiste eShun kicked off affairs for the night but due to the numerous categories and awards that were presented, the event dragged on late into the night and it took the effort of DKB, host of the event and other performers to keep the audience captivated throughout the evening.

Comedian Lekzy, once again cemented his reputation as one of the fastest rising comedians in the country with an impressive performance on the night.

Although other performers such as SP Kofi Sarpong, comedians OB and Selektor AF gave a good account of themselves, it was obvious Shatta Wale was the real crowd puller.

The Mahama Paper hitmaker performed song after song for close to 30 minutes and it was no surprise the auditorium emptied immediately after his performance with the last set of awards still yet to be given out.

Some winners at the event include Abeiku Santana who won the award for Radio Late Afternoon Show Host, Nana Aba Anamoah won Television Current Show Host, Bernard Avle won the award for Radio Morning Show Host, Despite Group won Media Group of the Year and George Quaye took home the award for Television Male Entertainment Show Host.

Other winners were Good Evening Ghana; Television Programme of the Year, Adjoa Yeboah Adjei; Radio Development Show Host of the Year, Radio Morning Show of the Year went to Kokroko with Angel Sports winning the Radio Sports Programme of the Year.