NPP, NDC put up candidates in 47 constituencies in Ashanti

A total of 240 persons filed their nominations to contest the 47 parliamentary seats in the Ashanti Region.

Out of this number, only 35 of them were women with the Asokwa Constituency which has a sitting female Member of Parliament (MP) recording three additional female candidates, making it the highest constituency with female candidates.

The 240 aspirants are from 12 political parties with 19 contesting as independent aspirants.

Both the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party (NPP) put up candidates in each of the 47 constituencies to merit the tag as the leading political parties.

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) presented candidates for 35 constituencies followed by the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) that had 25. The National Democratic Party (NDP) fielded 22 aspirants. The People’s National Convention (PNC) sponsored 21, while the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) had 10 candidates.

Hassan Ayariga’s Action Congress Party (APC) had six; United Front Party (UFP), three; UPP, IPP and DPP had one candidate each at the close of nomination.


Eight constituencies produced eight female independent candidates. These are Bosome Freho, Manso Nkwanta, Atwima Nwabiagya North, Kwadaso, Kwabre East, Afigya Kwabre South, Asante Akim North and Offinso South.

Apart from Asokwa where it is an all-female affair, some constituencies had two candidates. Unfortunately, 24 constituencies did not witness the presence of any female candidate.

Surprisingly, Subin, which had the highest number of candidates, eight; did not have a single female. Odotobri, Atwima Kwanwoma and Offinso North that had seven candidates each did not also have a single female aspirant.


Suame and Subin had eight candidates each, while Atwima Nwabiagya South recorded two, which is the lowest number of candidates.