Who Make The VGMA List Today? Nominees Party Tonight


Stonebwoy and VVIP

There is anxiety among Ghanaian musicians, their management teams and fans as the board of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) releases the official nomination list for this year’s edition.

There are 28 categories this year and some of Ghana’s finest musicians, including E.L, Bisa Kdei, Stonebwoy, Wisa, Ofori Amponsah, R2Bees, have their names making the rounds as possible nominees.

In the case of Bisa Kdei, many are already touting him as a potential artiste of the year.

The 13-member board has maintained zipped lips over the list and fuelled the already heightened suspense among stakeholders within Ghana’s music fraternity.

At a press conference this week, the board announced that the official list will be made public today within a period of 12 hours.

They said nominees for the various categories will be announced live on six radio stations, one television station and on all the social media pages of Charterhouse Ghana each hour from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm.

Board Chairman Nii Ayittey Hammond explained that the EIB Network are the official media partners for the VGMA this year, and therefore all its stations have been chosen as the official radio and TV stations for the announcement.

Impliedly, starting at exactly 8:00 am today, the announcement will be done on Live FM, Starr FM, Kasapa FM, GhOne TV, Empire FM in Takoradi, Ultimate FM in Kumasi and Agoo FM in Nkawkaw as well as their respective online sites.

It is, however, not clear in which order the categories will be announced.





The Kempinski Hotel in Accra has been announced as venue for celebration of the nominees later tonight. It will, however, be a strictly by invitation event which will be followed by a grand party all night long at the Bella Roma Night Club at Osu in Accra.

Live FM will be partnering Charterhouse Ghana for the after-party.


It is a panel of reputable music industry players with a wealth of deep knowledge and enviable experience in music.

This year, some 13 persons form the board. They are Nii Ayittey Tagoe, the board chair; George Quaye, the spokesperson and Theresa Ayoade, executive director of Charterhouse Ghana.

Ace musician and instrumentalist Bessa Simons and Bice Obour Kuffour are board members representing the Musicians Union of Ghana (MUSIGA). Other members are chief executive of Slip Music, music producer and artiste manager, Mark Okraku Mantey, broadcast journalist Doreen Andoh, media, communications and brands expert Francis Doku, Nii Ayi Tagoe, Zapp Mallet, Kwame Faakye, Nat Amandzeba Brew and Diana Hopson.

Together, the board has 30 percent voting power to determine which musician wins in the various categories.

There is also the VGMA Academy which also has 30 percent voting power and then the general public which has 40 percent voting power.

The VGMA Academy is made up of about 50 distinguished industry players with a fair regional representation to cover the country. The 50 are drawn from all the 10 regions and are usually brought together to vote under the supervision of KPMG.

It is significant to note, however, that the VGMA Most Popular Song of the Year category is entirely left to the public without any say from neither the VGMA board nor the academy.