Samia gets 3 challengers for CPP presidential slot

Three other persons have so far filed their nomination forms to contest Samia Yaaba Nkrumah for the president slot of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) ahead of the November general elections.

The new names include Joseph Agyapong, Bright Oblitei Akwetey and former party General Secretary, Ivor Kobina Greenstreet.

However, one of the aspirants, Mr Onsy Anwar could not file his nomination because he reportedly did not meet the requirements for the race at the close of nominations on Monday 11th January, 2016.

Earlier, the 2012 flagbearer of the CPP, Dr. Abu Sakara resigned from the party to run as an independent candidate.

He explained that his action was because of the conduct and misplaced priorities that still dominate decision making in the party among other issues.

According to him, he had tried to help build the CPP around the core principles and values of the party that attracted him but the “conduct and misplaced priorities that still dominate decision making in the party,”  has convinced him that his “resources, energy and talent can be put to more productive purpose as an independent Presidential Candidate.”

Dr. Sakara was the running mate to Dr. Paa Kwesi Nduom in the 2008 elections, but was elected as flag-bearer when Dr Nduom left the CPP to forn his own party, the Progressive People’s Party (PPP).

Meanwhile, the CPP had pegged an amount of GHc155,000 to be paid by each of the presidential hopefuls.

By: Godwin A. Allotey/

Follow @AlloteyGodwin