Dede battle Gyan for SWAG top award

Sports News of Monday, 11 January 2016


Dede Gyan 02.12Gyan and Dede

Andre Ayew will once again be in a battle with captain and talisman of the Black Stars, Asamoah Gyan for the Sports Personality of the Year after the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) on Monday released the list of nominees for the SWAG Awards Night. to be staged on May 28.

The event which is billed for the 28th of May at the State Banquet Hall, two coaches, Ashantigold’s Bashir Hayford and Black Queen’s Yusif Basigi will also be in contention for the flagship accolade with the two Black Stars giants.

For the Premier League Player of the Year, Ashantigold’s Eric Opoku, Liberty’s Kennedy Ashia and WA Allstars’ Richard Ofori will lock horns to see who emerges as the best.

Captain of the Ghana table tennis team, Bernard Joe Sam will receive stiff competition from his fellow teammates Derick Abrefa, Emmanuel Commey and Felix Lartey for the Table Tennis Star of the Year.

Sports Personality of the Year

1. Andre Ayew

2. Asamoah Gyan

3. Yussif Basigi

4. Bashir Hayford

Footballer of the year (male)

1. Andre Ayew

2. Asamoah Gyan

3.Harrison Afful

Footballer of the year (Female)

1. Portia Boakye

2. Samira Suleman

3.Janet Egyiri

Premier League Star

1. ERIC Opoku

2. Kennedy Ashia

3. Richard Ofori

National Team of the Year

1. Black Queens

2. George Darko / Wisdom Narh Adjrago( Gold medalist

Coach of the Year

1. Yussif Basigri (Black queens/Hasaacas Ladies)

2. Bashir Hayford (Ashantigold )

3. Henry Quansah (Golden Rackets)

Pro Boxer of the Year

Richard Commey

Amateur Boxer of the Year

David Bawa ( Heavyweight Bronze Medalist all Africa games)

Athlete of the Year (Male)

John Ampomah (Javelin Silver medalist all Africa games, two national records)

Athlete of the Year (Female)

Nadia Eke (Bronze medalist all Africa games triple jump, new National record)

Para Athlete of the Year

Patrick yaw Obeng (1,500 &800 T54 category bronze Medalist )

Hockey player of the Year (male)

Johnny Botsio

Hockey Player of the Year (Female)

Nafisatu Umaru

Table Tennis star of the Year

Felix Lartey, Bernard Joesam, Emmanuel Commey, Derrick Abrefa ( All Africa Games team)

Judo Star of the year (Female)

Szandra Szogoli (All Africa games 63kg bronze)

Judo Star of the year (male)

Emmanuel Nartey (All Africa 60kg bronze)

Taekwondo Star of the Year

David Adjetey (84kg silver medalist)

Association Chairman of the year

Fredrick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo )

Discovery of the year (Joint)

Richard Seklorwu ( Long jump gold medalist, commonwealth youth games in Samoa)

Joseph Tindan Kuyon ( Silver medalist, World children Taekwondo Culture Festival in south Korea)

most Promising star

Joe Fameyeh (Asokwa Deportivo /Local Black Stars)

Dedication and Valour

Stephen Oduro (Asante Kotoko )

Life Time Achievement Award

Sophia Okulley (Women’s Football )

C.K Gyamfi (Posthumous)

Special Awards

Asamoah Gyan ( Philanthropy )

Eben Annang Whyte (development of Table Tennis)

Police Women’s Hockey Team ( Bronze Medalist, African Clubs Championship)