Asante Kotoko wins G6 tourney!

Sports News of Sunday, 10 January 2016


Kot AsaKumasi Asante Kotoko

Kumasi Asante Kotoko’s fringe players have won the maiden edition of the FirsTrust G6 competition after beating Aduana Stars 1-0 in a hard fought contest at the Essipong Stadium.

Aduana had the first chance as they were awarded a penalty in the second minute but experience right back Godfred Saka saw his predictable penalty kick saved by Ofori Antwi.

The first half was overly physical with loads of rough tackles and Asante Kotoko striker Kwame Boateng was the major casualty. He sustained an injury from a bad foul on him and had to be substituted.

The Porcupine Warriors got the breakthrough goal immediately after break.

Michael Yeboah was brought down in the box and the referee did not hesitate to point to the spot.

Burkinabe import Halipha Sedogo made no mistake as his opponent as he calmly slotting the ball under the roof of the net to tear the virginity of the game.

The Dormaa-based club after conceding opened up and played with a determined attitude.

Coach Nurudeen brought on experienced Yahaya Mohammed who scored two goals against Medeama yesterday to make the difference.

It did not take the former Kotoko player too long on the field to make an impact, forcing a brilliant save from Kotoko’s shot stopper Antwi.

Despite the threat posed by Yahaya Mohammed and his mates Kotoko remained resolute to claim the competition.

The victory means Kotoko have now won three pre-season trophies after choking success in SWAG Cup against Ghana League champions AshantiGold and their 80th Anniversary Cup against FK Jagodina.

Ofori Antwi was voted man of the match and subsequently crowned with the goalkeeper of the tournament award.

Aduana Stars’ Yakubu Mohammed also collected the best defender award following his stellar and solid outing at the heart of Aduana’s defence.

The overall best award went to striker Kwame Boateng for his exploits whereas another Kotoko newbie Bennett Ofori took home the discovery of the tournament award