Fifi Kwetey Wins Ketu South

Fifi Kwetey

Provisional results indicate that incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Ketu South Fifi Kwetey has won the National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary primary held yesterday.

Out of the results of 65 polling stations monitored by Joy Fm, the incumbent had garnered over 13,000 votes with only five of the polling stations remaining.

His closest contender, Sylvanus Amedorme barely garnered 1,000 votes in as many results declared so far.

The primaries in Ketu South was postponed following a court action filed by suspended parliamentary aspirant, Jim Morti but the case was thrown out, paving way for yesterday’s election.

Reports say there was low turnout in the election which saw two others Sylvanus Yao Amedorme and Famous Kuadugah challenging the incumbent.

That notwithstanding, the incumbent MP was confident of retaining the slot ahead of the 2016 parliamentary polls.

Before the counting of the votes, he told Joy Fm that “I am confident I will win. I will win decisively. There is no cause for alarm.”

Results that trickled in showed an overwhelming victory for the incumbent MP even though it was provisional.

At the Nogokpo L/A polling station Fifi Kwetey polled 450 while Amedorme and Kuadugah polled seven and five respectively.

At the Akame polling station, Kwetey had 297, Amedorme, 86, Kuadugah, 13.

At the Kpogedi station, Kwetey polled 266, Amedorme, three, Kuadugah, one with two rejected ballots.

At the Aflao Market Square, Fifi Kwetey polled 605, Amedorme, 14, Kuadugah, 7 with 13 rejected ballots.

At the Akporkploe primary polling station, Kwetey polled 187 with Amedorme and Kuaduga polling 24 and three respectively.

The situation was not different at the Hatsukope polling station.

Fifi Kwetey polled 415 while Amedorme and Kuaduga polled seven and five votes respectively, with three rejected ballots.

There are 70 polling stations in the constituency and if the trend of the provisional results is anything to go by, then the incumbent MP is sure to be retained as parliamentary aspirant for the NDC and will go ahead to retain the seat in the ‘World bank’ of the NDC in 2016.

In all, 32,637 registered eligible voters were expected to cast their ballot in the primary.

In a related development however, five communities have boycotted the elections in protest against government’s failure to honour promises made to them.

The residents claim the salt production in the area, which is their major source of livelihood, has been taken away from them.

They want the government to resolve their grievances before they would vote in the 2016 general elections.