Throw-Back:Accra Hearts of Oak's Musical Youth

Sports News of Wednesday, 23 December 2015


Hrts YthAccra Hearts of Oak’s ‘Musical Youth’ of the late 1980

Accra Hearts of Oak’s ‘Musical Youth’ of the late 1980?, was the team won the Ghana First Division League in 1989/ 90 season.

This young team was compelled to replace almost the whole of the under-performing old players who had famously won the 1978, 1979, 1984 and 1985 league championships.

After arch rivals Asante Kotoko SC had won 3 league championships in a row (1987, 1988/ 89 & 1990/ 91), then Chairman Dr Nyaho Nyaho Tamakloe was brave enough to recruit young players dubbed ‘Musical Youth’ to directly replace the out fading ones, and that bravery paid off after the first season. Some of them were from Hearts of Oak’s juvenile side Auroras FC.

Top Row (L-R): Nana Benyin Crentsil, Sam Johnson ‘Foyoo’, Emmanuel Armah ‘Senegal’, Eben Dugbartey, Osumanu Iddi, Joe Addo ‘Alokoso’, Anthony Tieku & goalkeeper Abass Caesar.

Bottom Row (L-R): Shamo ‘Leather’ Quaye, Mohammed Ahmed ‘Polo’, Ibrahim Labaran,?, Ben Adjei, Thomas Quaye & Samuel Ablade Kumah.