Ayew, Toure, Aubameyang in Glo-CAF Top 3

Sports News of Tuesday, 15 December 2015

Source: Daily Guide

Andre Ayew Swansea ActionAndre Ayew

The race for the 2015 African Player of the Year Award of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) is getting keener with the release of the top three contenders for the continent’s top football prize.

Ghana’s midfield sensation, Andre Ayew, who plays for English Premier League side, Swansea City, is in hot contention with last year’s winner, Yaya Toure (Cote d”Ivoire/ Manchester City) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon/ Borussia Dortmund). This brings back memories of the 2011 edition which equally had Toure and Ayew among the top three finishers.

These three top contenders were named at a press conference held in Abuja, Nigeria, on Monday, December 12, attended by CAF Executive member, Anjorin Moucharafou and representatives of Glo, the sponsors of the biggest football fiesta in Africa.

The three top nominees for the African Player of the Year – Based in Africa include Baghdad Boundjah (Algeria/Etoile du Sahel), Mbwana Aly Samata (Tanzania/TP Mazembe) and Robert Kidiaba (DR Congo/TP Mazembe).

The winners will be decided by votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF and winners be announced on 7 January 2016 during the Glo-CAF Award event to be held at the International Conference Centre, Abuja, Nigeria.

Meanwhile, the 32-year-old Manchester City midfielder, Yaya Toure has been awarded BBC African Footballer of the year 2015.

Toure won the 2014 edition of the Glo-CAF Award ahead of Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Vincent Enyeama.

Since 1992, when Abedi Pele won the award, Ghana has always come close to the prize without winning. In 2009 and 2001, Samuel Kuffour came second each time. In 2006, Michael Essien trailed Didier Drogba and Samuel Eto and lost out in 2007, 2008 and 2009. Asamoah Gyan lost in 2010 to Samuel Etoó. Andre Ayew lost to Yahaya Toure in 2011.