Twitter reactions:Dede missing out on BBC award

Sports News of Friday, 11 December 2015


Andy DedeGhana midfielder Andre Ayew

Twitter has gone haywire after Ghana midfielder Andre Ayew lost out on the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year Award to Ivorian Yaya Toure.

The 32-year-old garnered the most votes to clinch the award for the second time ahead of Yacine Brahimi, Pierre-Emerick Aubamayang, Andre Ayew and Sadio Mane.

The Manchester City midfielder becomes only the third player to win the prestigious award for the second time, following in the path of Nwankwo Kanu and Jay Jay Okocha.

Social networking site Twitter has been under siege with varied views on the latest international award.

I don,t agree corrupt award. @allsportsgh @aubameyang7 @ayewandre @sadiomane10 @yayatoure

— Mensah john 1 (@Johnmensahidan1) December 11, 2015

The only trophy that will elude Yaya Toure is the World Cup it seems!! — Patrick Akoto (@Patakoto) December 11, 2015 It looks as if Yaya won this with his brand power and image. Purely football grounds @AyewAndre deserves the title

— Emmanuel Frimpong (@AkyerekOfficial) December 11, 2015

AFCON 2015 was the poorest Yaya has played at national level for a long time.Don’t tell me he deserves it because the Elephants won? — Pulse Akoto (@eastsportsman) December 11, 2015 Okocha, Kanu and now Yaya have won the #BBCAfotY twice each.

— Gary Al-Smith (@garyalsmith) December 11, 2015

YOUR WINNER: Yaya Toure has been crowned the African Footballer of the Year, 2015. CONGRATULATIONS. #BBCAFOTY @YayaToure — BBC Africa (@BBCAfrica) December 11, 2015 Congrats @AyewAndre

— Benedict Owusu (@KwesiBenedict) December 11, 2015

[email protected] Congratulations on being the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year! #BBCAFOTY — BBCLoveFootball (@bbclovefootball) December 11, 2015 @allsportsgh @aubameyang7 @ayewandre @sadiomane10 @yayatoure u can’t argue, @sadiomane10 is my man!

— MartialNoSiZe (@KwameOkanta) December 11, 2015