Happy FM Launches 3rd Ghana Sports Fans Awards

Happy FM, Ghana’s number one sports station, has launched the 3rd edition of the Ghana Sports Fans awards, and announced the nominees for this year. Present at the in-studio launch were Mr. Joshua Mensah, the Eastern Regional Sports Development Officer at the Ghana Sports Council, who is now acting as the Chairman of the Technical Committee of the Ghana Sports Fans Awards.

Also present were several well-known Happy FM faces including Chares Osei Esibey, DJ Advicer, McParadise Okocha and several others.

Aimed at recognizing and celebrating sports personalities and officials who have excelled in various sporting disciplines in the year under review, this year’s event is slated to take place on Saturday, December 26, 2015 at the Best Western Premier Hotel, Accra.

During the launch ceremony at the studious of Happy FM, Ms. Naomi Nelson, Head of Corporate Communications and Marketing of Global Media Alliance Broadcast Company (GMABC), the mother company of Happy FM, said, “We are glad to once again bring excitement to sports fans and personalities who are eagerly awaiting this year’s awards ceremony which has become one of the important events in the Ghanaian sports industry,’’ adding that, ‘’as a powerhouse in sports broadcasting in this country, our vision as a station is to expand this awards ceremony to the West African sub-region to include African sports personalities.’’

Nominees for the 2015 Ghana Sports Fans Awards are Atsu Nyamede, Patrick Yaw Obeng (Para Sports), Mary Zutah (Javelin).for Athlete of the Year; David Bawa, Richard Commey, Emmanuel Tagoe for Boxer of the Year; Eric Opoku, Sabahn Leryea, Ahmed Adams, Kennedy Ashia for GPL Player of the Year; Kudjo Fianoo, Linear Addy, Philipina Frimpong for Administrator of the Year; Bashir Hayford, Henry Quansah (Tennis) and Yusif Basigi for Sports Coach of the Year.

Other categories are Andrew Dede Ayew, Asamoah Gyan, and Avram Grant, Sports Personality of the Year (overall); Portia Boakye (Black Queens), Janet Agyiri (Black Queens) Wasila Diawura (Princess) Footballer of the Year (women); Andrew Dede Ayew, Emmanuel Agyeman Badu, Afriyie Acquah, Footballer of the Year (Foreign) as well as special awards for Sports Discipline of the Year, Unsung Hero and Supporters Group of the Year featuring the Die Hard Group, Millennium Group and the Ghansu Group.

For more information, tune in to 98.9 Happy FM in Accra or check out www.happyfmghana.com for more information.