Grant, Andre and Gyan compete for top fans award

Sports News of Wednesday, 9 December 2015


Avram Grant And Dede AyewAvram Grant and Dede Ayew

Ghana coach Avram Grant will be competing against Asamoah Gyan and Andre Ayew for the flagship accolade at this year’s Ghana Sports Fans awards.

The third edition of the annual awards has been scheduled to come off at the Best Western Premier Hotel on December 26.

The Ghana Sports Fans awards is an initiative of Accra-based radio station, Happy FM, meant to reward deserving individuals and groups in the sporting fraternity.

This year’s edition will see the Black Stars trio of Avram Grant, Andre Ayew and Asamoah Gyan slug it out for the flagship Sports Personality of the Year award.

Grant makes the final shortlist after leading Ghana to an impressive silver medal feat at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

This impressive feat, during a period where no one expected, was greatly helped by Andre Ayew, who emerged the top scorer of the tournament.

Asamoah Gyan also played his part in saving Ghana’s blushes with a late strike in the second group game at the 2015 AFCON against Algeria.

Ayew is also nominated for the Footballer of the Year award where he will be competing against Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu and Afriyie Acquah.

Ghana Premier League Player of the Year which will see the likes of Eric Opoku, Sabahn Laryea, Ahmed Adams and Kennedy Ashia fighting for the coveted award.

Bashir Hayford, coach of Ashgold who led the club to win the 2014/2015 Ghana Premier League trophy will lock horns with Henry Quansah who led the Ghana tennis team to win gold at the All Africa Games and Yusif Basigi who also led the Black Queens to win gold at the All Africa games for the Coach of the Year Award.

Below is the full list of nominees for the awards:

Sports Discipline of the Year – Football, Tennis, Athletics

Athlete of the Year – Atsu Nyamede, Patrick Yaw Obeng (Para Sports), Mary Zutah (Javelin)

Boxer of the year- David Bawa, Richard Commey, Emmanuel Tagoe

Ghana Premier League Player of the Year- Eric Opoku, Sabahn Laryea, Ahmed Adams, Kennedy Ashia

Administrator of the Year – Kudjo Fianoo, Linear Addy, Philipina Frimpong

Sports Coach of the Year – Bashir Hayford, Henry Quansah (Tennis)

Supporters Group of the Year – Die Hard, Millennium, Ghansu

Sports Personality of the Year (Overall) – Andre Ayew, Asamoah Gyan, Avram Grant

Unsung Hero

Special Award

Footballer of the Year (Foreign) – Andre Ayew, Emmanuel Agyemang Badu, Afriyie Acquah

Footballer of the Year (Women) – Portia Boakye (Black Queens), Janet Agyiri (Black Queens), Wasila Diawura ( Princesses).