Tongu constituencies assume NDC new ‘World Bank’ status

Politics of Wednesday, 2 December 2015


NDC Rally 2015NDC rally – 2015

President John Dramani Mahama polled a total of 132,487 YES votes against 7,811 NO and 2,487 rejected votes in the Volta Region in the ruling party’s last presidential and parliamentary primaries held nationwide on November 11.

He polled the highest votes of 12,440 votes in the South Tongu Constituency with 19 NO votes to be followed by the Central Tongu with 12,373 YES votes with 1,133 NO votes and North Tongu with 11, 271 YES votes against 140 NO.

The Tongu constituencies have thus assumed the new “World Bank” title against the Ketu constituencies which bagged 10, 650 YES votes and 354 NO votes in the Ketu North and 10,222 YES votes and 467 NO votes in the Ketu South Constituency.

Afadjato South

The Ho West Constituency scored 9,938 YES votes and 355 NO votes for the president to be followed by Keta Constituency – 9,717 YES votes and 225 NO votes – and Afadjato South Constituency with 9,402 YES votes and 424 NO votes.

The constituency which registered the lowest NO vote was Akatsi North where the president polled zero votes and a YES vote of 5,637.

Other results are: Kpando – 9,374 YES votes and 210 NO; Anlo – 8,478 YES votes and 522 NO; Hohoe – 8,073 YES votes and 520 NO; Biakoye – 8,006 YES votes and 401 NO; Akan – 6,836 YES and 604 NO; Krachi East- 6,604 YES votes and 570 NO; Agotime Ziope -6,598 YES votes and 13 NO; North Dayi -6,593 YES votes and 51 NO; and Akatsi South with 6,494 YES votes and 300 NO.

Others are Buem-6,310 YES votes and 308 NO; South Dayi-5,626 YES votes and 259 NO; Krachi West-5,584 YES votes and 35 NO; Krachi Nchumuru- 4,789 YES votes and 615 NO and in the Krachi North Constituency -4,194 YES votes and 58 NO. The election in the Nkwanta South Constituency was put on hold.

Incumbent MPs

In the National Democratic Congress parliamentary primaries, four incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) from the Central Tongu, South Dayi, North Dayi and Biakoye constituencies lost the contest.

In the Central Tongu Constituency, Mr Alex Gabby Hottordze polled 7,844 votes against the incumbent, Mr Joe Gidisu, with 3,082 votes and Mr Frank Awuku Agbanator who polled 2, 554 votes; and at South Dayi, Mr Rockson Dafeamekpor polled 2,422 votes to unseat the incumbent, Mr Simon Edem Asimah, with 1,585 votes – Mr Frank T. Theophilus Kofi Dei with 939 votes, Mrs Bertha Ansah-Djan with 830 votes and Ms Joyce Owusu Adugu with 83 votes.

In the North Dayi Constituency, Miss Joycelyn Tetteh polled 3,037 votes to defeat the incumbent, Mr George Loh, who polled 2,209 votes and Professor Kodzo Gavua with 1,380 votes while in Biakoye, Mr Nyanpon Aboagye polled 2,759 votes to beat the incumbent, Mr Emmanuel Kwasi Bandua, with 1,519 votes with other contestants polling: 1,604 votes for Denis Ofori Asiedu, 1,473 votes for Jean Marie Formadi, 546 votes for Jocob Kwao Letsa and 468 votes for Stephen Yao Akpalu.

Meanwhile, three contestants from Ho Central, Mr Benjamin Kpodo, Krachi West, Ms Helen Adjo Ntoso and Nkwanta North Mr John Oti Bless were declared unopposed while the contest in Ketu South and North Tongu was postponed pending hearing of an application for a court injunction on the primaries.

Other results

Other results are: Keta Constituency, Mr Richard Quashigah-6,892 votes, Mr Kwame Dzudzorli Gakpey-2,024 votes, Mr Kofi Kukubor-574 votes and Mr Rockyfeller Amudzi-458 votes; Anlo Constituency, Mr Clement Kofi Humado-3,208 votes, Mr Sefe Kwami Richard-2,235 votes, Mr Wonder Victor Kutor-1,855 votes, Mr Alex Doe-1,000 votes, Mr Richard Frank Torblu- 298 votes, Mr Mawuenyega Gandai – 181 votes Mr Lucas Fred Dagadu-122 votes and Mr Makafui Segbedzi-85 votes.

In the Ketu North Constituency, Dr James Klutse Avedzi retained the seat with 7,697 votes to beat Dr Stevens Ahiawordor with 2,063 votes, Mr Don Emmanuel Agbanyo – 683 votes and Mr Kwaku Treveh with 322 votes while in the Akatsi South Constituency, Mr Bernard Ahiafor maintained the seat by beating Mr Prince Kassim Alubankudi with 1,195 votes.

The Akatsi North incumbent, Mr Peter Nortsu Kotoe, polled 2,689 votes to beat Dr Stephen Torkpo with 2,144 votes and Dr Senanu Donald Agumenu with 448 votes, and in the South Tongu Constituency, Mr Mensah Kobla Woyome polled 7,076 votes to beat Mr Maxwell Kwame Lukutor with 2,589 votes, Mr Romeo Hademe with 1,508 votes, Mr Michael Yao Ametor with 1,000 votes and Mr Emmanuel Nusetor with 139 votes.

Adaklu Constituency

In the Adaklu Constituency, Mr Kwame Agbodza polled 3,671 votes to beat Mr Raymond Prosper Akpatsa with 1,347 votes and in the Agotime Ziope Constituency, Mr Charles Agbeve polled 3,215 votes as against 2,295 votes for Ms Akusika M.K. Ansah and 984 votes for Mr David Kwame Dreke, while in the Ho West Constituency, Mr Emmanuel Kwasi Bedzrah polled 6,396 votes to beat Mr Biadela Mortey Akpadzi with 2,451 votes and Nokomeko Delight Tettey with 875 votes and Mr Alexander Senyo Bediako with 227 votes.

Dr Bernice Adiku–Heloo polled 4,789 votes to beat Dr Ken Ahorsu with 2,585 votes and Mr Theophilus Dzimegah with 1,239 votes in the Hohoe Constituency and in the Afadjato South Constituency, Mrs Angela Alorwu Tay polled 5,138 votes to beat Mr Reuben Kornu with 1,419 votes, Miss Kafui Takyi -1,366 votes, Mr Eben Kay Hodo – 820 votes, Mr Victus Agbesi with 577 votes and Miss Susie Adoboe with 559 votes.

In the Akan Constituency, Mr Abdul Aziz Muniru carried the day with 2,699 votes as against Mr Daniel Danquah Ansah with 1,614 votes, Mr Abdul Fattah Mohammed with 1,604 votes and Mr Matthew Brains Kudo with 1,586 votes.

Mr Wisdom Gidisu retained the seat in the Krachi East Constituency with 3,933 votes against Mr Emmanuel Kofi Duh with 2,832 votes and Mr Nathaniel Attah Gyamfi with 319 votes while in the Krachi Nchumuru Constituency, Mr John Majisi polled 3,701 votes to beat Mr John Limudal Sanja with 1,666 votes.